Research Guides: BIOL 2402 (Anatomy & Physiology II) Prof. J. Seawright: Databases/Articles

Databases (journal and magazine articles)

In addition to searching for your sources at the library's main search on the homepage, you can search individual databases listed below.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Science is a database that searches for resources in most science subject areas, providing a view of topics in context with society, history, innovation, globalism, ethics, future trends, and more. The content provided includes reference sources, magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Science offers coverage of scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. Many non-embargoed journals are offered. Content coveres biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database provides access to geoscience literature, including references to geoscience maps, serial literature, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides research from scholarly, governmental and general interest sources on environmental issues and efforts to minimize negative impacts within a variety of disciplines, including agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. The database includes such topics as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The National Geographic Virtual Library includes full-text National Geographic magazines from 1888 forward with unlimited simultaneous access, full-text eBooks published by National Geographic in their original formatting, and images, maps, and videos developed by National Geographic.
ProQuest Community College This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Community College searches multiple full-text databases covering most subject areas in academic research.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Using the MCC Library's Search Features

The video below will teach you the basics of using the MCC Library's search engine (which is located on the library's homepage). It incudes information on:

search basics
signing in
the item-preview page
accessing items
accessing more information about an item
narrowing your search results
- Hint: You will need to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles
- Hint: You will need to limit your results by age (no more than 5 years old, but preferably no more than 3 years old)

The video below will teach you to use the cite, share, and save button's on the item-preview screen.

The video below will teach you to find more information about a search result by accessing its record page.

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
Click Settings and then Library links
Type MCC Library and hit enter
Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
Click Save
Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

google scholar