Research Guides: BIOL 2402 (Anatomy & Physiology II) Prof. J. Seawright: Websites

Selected Websites

Animal Diversity Web (University of Michigan)
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
ENZYME: Enzyme Nomenclature Database (Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
"ENZYME is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided."
ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information System
"Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world."
National Center for Biotechnology Information
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."
PubMed Central
PubMed is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Science.gov (Gateway to U.S. Federal Science)
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance."
Wilson & Reeder's Mammal Species of the World (Bucknell University)
This "database of mammalian taxonomy [is] based upon the 2005 book Mammal Species of the World: A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference (3rd ed.). . . . Names are organized in a hierarchy that includes Order, Suborder, Family, Subfamily, Genus, Species, and Subspecies."

Internet Websites versus Library Databases

Internet websites are readily available, usually do not require a login, and may or may not be credible. A website's credibility depends upon the source of the information, the currency of the information (if relevant), the credentials of the author(s), etc.

Library databases, on the other hand, are restricted to use by individuals who are affiliated with subscribing institutions, usually require a login, and tend to include credible sources of information (e.g., articles and books) that traditionally have been located in libraries.

This page contains websites and search tools that may be useful. (Select the "Databases/Articles" tab at the top of the guide to locate resources in databases.)