BIOL 2402 (Anatomy & Physiology II) Prof. J. Seawright

An illustrated guide to the core design principles of the body's musculoskeletal system-for kinesiologists, movement therapists, yoga teachers, dancers, and bodyworkers of all kinds What does knowledge of anatomical structure have to do with preventing everyday muscular aches, pains, and injuries? According to Dr. Theodore Dimon, everything! Our bodies are designed to work holistically, supported by an intelligently organized system of muscles, bones, and connective tissue. So when we target problem spots by stretching, relaxing, or strengthening individual muscles, we bypass the dynamic, interconnected network that enables healthy functioning and injury prevention. Understanding how this system works in action is the key. In this groundbreaking guide, Dr. Dimon describes the basic principles that govern our bodies' musculoskeletal architecture and provides practical exercises to activate specific muscle groups and demonstrate our bodies' efficient holistic function. Readers will learn about dynamic design and the body in action, including- How the musculoskeletal system works as a whole The relationship between proprioception and muscle length About maximizing spinal, shoulder, hip, arm, and leg stability and health The important role of breath and breathing About posture and musculoskeletal support With more than 300 illustrations, this is an ideal resource for students and practitioners of kinesiology, bodywork, movement, sport kinesiology, dance, and all readers searching for a dynamic guide to the human body.

Imagine being able to taste or hear with your feet, or feel your way through the dark with your nose! Like humans, animals interact with the world through their senses. Unlike humans, many animals use their senses in truly unique ways to communicate, reproduce, and survive.

Building on the strength of the previous two editions, Bergman's Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Human Anatomic Variation is the third installment of the classic human anatomical reference launched by Dr. Ronald Bergman. With both new and updated entries, and now illustrated in full color, the encyclopedia provides an even more comprehensive reference on human variation for anatomists, anthropologists, physicians, surgeons, medical personnel, and all students of anatomy. Developed by a team of editors with extensive records publishing on both human variation and normal human anatomy, Bergman's Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Human Anatomic Variation is the long awaited update to this classic reference.

The 439 A-Z entries cover biological concepts, the history of science, such critical issues as embryogenesis and the commercial applications of research, ethical issues, and careers in biology, serving as a broad introduction to the many facets of biology. More than 60 entries are brand new and almost three times as many entries are substantially revised and updated; all entries have been reviewed for currency. This edition highlights advances in biology that have taken place since the beginning of the 21st century and topics of contemporary interest, including molecular genetics, biotechnology, human physiology, biodiversity, and ecology. Biographical sidebars feature scientists who have made significant contributions to their fields. The writing level makes accurate information accessible to a high school audience. Full-color photographs, diagrams, and sidebars add visual interest. More than 600 terms are defined in the margins of the pages where they appear and compiled into a convenient glossary at the back of each volume. Each entry contains a bibliography/suggestions for further reading. A thematic outline provides a guide to entries by subject. Handy references in the front matter include a geologic time scale and metric conversion table.

This non-technical book examines the everyday physics behind hearing and vision to help readers understand more about themselves and their physical environment.

By focusing on the cellular mechanisms that underlie ontogeny, phylogeny and regeneration of complex physiologic traits, Evolution, the Logic of Biology demonstrates the use of homeostasis, the fundamental principle of physiology and medicine, as the unifying mechanism for evolution as all of biology. The homeostasis principle can be used to understand how environmental stressors have affected physiologic mechanisms to generate condition-specific novelty through cellular mechanisms. Evolution, the Logic of Biology allows the reader to understand the vertebrate life-cycle as an intergenerational continuum in support of effective, on-going environmental adaptation. By understanding the principles of physiology from their fundamental unicellular origins, culminating in modern-day metazoans, the reader as student, researcher or practitioner will be encouraged to think in terms of the prevention of disease, rather than in the treatment of disease as the eradication of symptoms. By tracing the ontogeny and phylogeny of this and other phenotypic homologies, one can perceive and understand how complex physiologic traits have mechanistically evolved from their simpler ancestral and developmental origins as cellular structures and functions, providing a logic of biology for the first time. Evolution, the Logic of Biology will be an invaluable resource for graduate students and researchers studying evolutionary development, medicine and biology, anthropology, comparative and developmental biology, genetics and genomics, and physiology.

Flowers are more than just decoration. They have an important job. But they can't always do it alone. Find out more about the work of flowers, how they attract help, and how they help plant species survive.

""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--

Thorough presentation of genetics in the 21st century. Includes foundational concepts, key scientific and historical themes (such as Watson and Crick, Mendelian genetics), ethical issues (such as cloning and genetic testing), and advances in the science (such as DNA fingerprinting and microarray analysis). A significant revision of the earlier 2003 edition, Genetics reworks one hundred core entries, such as Genetic Code, Meiosis, and RNA, to make them accessible for high-school reading levels. In addition, more advanced topics, such as Combinational Chemistry, High-Throughput Screening, and Transposable Genetic Elements, are revised and updated for further learning. Many new entries are included, such as Careers in Genetics and Biotechnology, CRISPR-Cas 9 Genome Editing (includes video), Genetically Modified Organisms (includes video), and HeLa Cells.

Human Biochemistry includes clinical case studies and applications that are useful to medical, dentistry and pharmacy students. It enables users to practice for future careers as both clinicians and researchers. Offering immediate application of biochemical principles into clinical terms in an updated way, this book is the unparalleled textbook for medical biochemistry courses in medical, dental and pharmacy programs.

Human intelligence isn't just located in the brain. Our bodies are marvelously sophisticated and complex, with a variety of autonomic systems that help maintain our health without us ever having to think about them. But how exactly do all these physiological structures actually work?   In Our Intelligent Bodies, physiology professor Gary F. Merrill takes you on a guided tour through the human body. You'll learn how our eyes are designed to detect unimaginably small bursts of light and how our ears contain bundles of tiny hairs, each one attuned to different sound frequencies. You'll also discover how our hearts are smart enough to compensate for skipped beats and irregular rhythms and how our pulmonary system adjusts for low oxygen levels. You'll even find out why the gut is sometimes called the "second brain," its reflexes controlled by millions of neurons.      Written in a fun, easy-to-comprehend style and filled with illuminating analogies, Our Intelligent Bodies also brings readers up to date on cutting-edge research into the wonders of human physiology. It will give you a new appreciation for the smart decisions our bodies are making when our brains aren't paying attention.

A lively and unconventional exploration of our senses, how they work, what is revealed when they don't, and how they connect us to the world Over the past decade neuroscience has uncovered a wealth of new information about our senses and how they serve as our gateway to the world. This splendidly accessible book explores the most intriguing findings of this research. With infectious enthusiasm, Rob DeSalle illuminates not only how we see, hear, smell, touch, taste, maintain balance, feel pain, and rely on other less familiar senses, but also how these senses shape our perception of the world aesthetically, artistically, and musically.   DeSalle first examines the question of how perception and consciousness are formed in the brain, setting human senses in an evolutionary context. He then investigates such varied themes as supersenses and diminished senses, synesthesia and other cross-sensory phenomena, hemispheric specialization, diseases, anomalies induced by brain injuries, and hallucinations. Focusing on what is revealed about our senses through the extraordinary, he provides unparalleled insights into the unique wonders of the human brain.

In this natural and cultural history of bone, Brian Switek explains where our skeletons came from, what they do inside us, and what others can learn about us when these wondrous assemblies of mineral and protein are all we ve left behind. He makes a compelling case for getting better acquainted with our skeletons, in all their surprising roles. Bridging the worlds of paleontology, anthropology, medicine, and forensics, Skeleton Keys illuminates the complex life of bones inside our bodies and out.