Research Guides: World History: Websites

World History Websites

Best of History Web Sites
An award-winning portal created for students, history educators, and general history enthusiasts, which contains links to 1200+ links to "history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."
more...less...
- This site is a great place to find a variety of reliable history websites. The listings are rated for usefulness and accuracy.

- The information on this site is collected and maintained by EdTechTeacher
David Rumsey Map Collection
An online collection of more than 114,000 digitized, high-resolution maps that "focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania". The collection receives regular updates of new materials, so it is constantly growing.
more...less...
- This site is a great place to find accurate, historical maps. Use them for inspiration, or for in-depth research, depending on your research topic.

- The information on this site is uploaded and maintained by Cartography Associates, which utilizes only maps from the David Ramsey Map Center at Stanford University.
EuroDocs
An extensive index of Internet links that lead to both digital documents and external websites, all of which provide information on European history. The digital documents include a large number of primary research materials, meaning that they are first-hand accounts/materials from historical eras.
more...less...
- This site is a great place to find inspiration, conduct background research, or conduct in-depth research. It contains links to primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.

- The information on this website is organized and maintained by the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A collection of over 17 million digitized "books and book-like materials" that have been uploaded from libraries all around the world. The collection spans many subjects and time periods.
more...less...
- This site is a great place to find inspiration, conduct background research, or conduct in-depth research. It contains links to primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.

- The information on this website is organized and maintained by the Hathi Trust, which is " a partnership of academic and research institutions". The site is designed to serve scholarly interests.
Histography
An interactive timeline of history that spans nearly 14 billion years.
more...less...
- This site is a great place to get inspiration or conduct background research. However, it links to Wikipedia articles, which instructors may not accept as appropriate academic sources. So, use it a starting point, and then use what you learn to search for academic-appropriate sources.

- This information on this site is based upon the work of Wikipedia editors, and it is updated automatically as new historical articles are added to Wikipedia. The process for these updates and the larger Histography project were created by digital designer and developer Matan Stauber.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Fordham University)
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Jews in Russia and the Soviet Union
A chronological (1727-January 1992) list that gives details of the historical Russian/Soviet Union governmental policies that affected Jews living within the borders of Russia and/or the Soviet Union.
more...less...
- The linked page is a great place to get inspiration or conduct background research.

- The information on the linked page was compiled by the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) and it is hosted by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees' (UNHCR) Refworld website.
Luminarium
Primary and secondary sources on a number of subjects covering the Medieval, Renaissance, 17th century, and Restoration periods of English history.
Multnomah County Library Homework Center
Extensive links in many historical subject areas.

World History Maps

Mapping History
"The Mapping History Project has been designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics. The material is copyrighted, but is open and available to academic users. Inquiries about the re-use of the material in a commercial or academic context should be sent to the editors."
Old Maps Online
"The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution."
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
This site contains local, national, international, historical and topographical maps. The Cartographic Reference section provides links for distance calculators, gazetteers, glossaries and guides, latitude and longitude, map projections, map scale, sun & moon rise/set calculations, tides, and time zones. Links to other map resources can be found under General Map Sites.