Research Guides: World History: Databases and Articles

Databases

If you are studying World History, the most appropriate databases for your needs are listed below (though you can still use the search tool on the library's homepage to search every database simultaneously and then narrow results by using the subject filter on the left side of the results screen).

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts.
Eighteenth Century Collections 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
The Eighteenth Century Collections offer full text access to a large collection of items relevant to historical primary source research, including books, pamphlet, essays, and broadsides of works published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. The works are primarily in English, although some are in other languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of archived and current issues of academic, peer-reviewed journals. The MCC Library subscribes to 9 multidisciplinary arts and sciences collections and a life sciences journal collection.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete offers full-text access to popular magazines, established academic journals, reference books, biographies, and trade publications. Other content includes primary source documents, Associated Press videos, photos, maps, and flags.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, This database offers a thorough collection of Full text periodicals, academic journals, and other content.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank has 500,000 in-depth and original profiles including full-text articles, images, and abstracts from established magazines and journals.
Times Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
Click Settings and then Library links
Type MCC Library and hit enter
Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
Click Save
Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

google scholar