What the heck is a database?
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. Multiple database companies may collect the same item, which then appears in each database.
Database companies charge a fee for access to their databases. Don't worry, MCC Library Services pays this fee for MCC students, faculty, and staff (with the exception of continuing education students). In fact, we provide access to 196 databases.
Watch the video from another community college library below for more information and to find out why simply searching Google is not enough!
The MCC Library provides a multi-search database platform, often referred to as the Library Search or Search Engine, as well as individual databases covering a wide range of subjects. For most research topics, you can start your search with the main library search tool. Please refer to the video tutorials below to help you with getting started in using this search tool. When you are ready to use the library search, visit the library homepage to begin.
You can also search specific databases that are relevant to your topic, listed in the next box below. These databases will have a lot of the same search features and tools as the library's search tool. You can also do multi-searches by database vendor (Gale, Ebsco, and ProQuest are examples).
You can begin the majority of your research with our primary search tool from the library homepage, but you may want to use specific databases that will provide access to magazines, newspapers, or videos. Please read the descriptions below the database titles to determine the best database for your research needs.
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
ProQuest Community College searches multiple full-text databases covering most subject areas in academic research.
Gale Academic OneFile is a multidisciplinary database for locating scholary journals and periodicals. In addition, the collection provides access to authoritative podcasts, audio transcripts, and videos from NPR, CNN, and BBC Worldwide Learning.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the full-text of current and extensive backfiles of U.S. newspapers, news services, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper database covering U.S., regional, national, and local newspapers. Included coverage also spans to leading world news. Images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts can also be discovered using this resource.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Package offers clips and full-length educational videos on a wide range of subjects. These videos include documentaries, news, educational content, interviews, dramatic productions, and performances. Faculty can visit guide for instructions on utilizing Films on Demand in their courses.
