Research Guides: Specialized Databases: Home

Specialized Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary streaming video subscription for libraries. Titles span a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Videos can be embedded in Brightspace and users can create free accounts to curate video titles and share them with other MCC users.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank has 500,000 in-depth and original profiles including full-text articles, images, and abstracts from established magazines and journals.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom's Literature is a source for information on contemporary and classic writers from around the world. Bloom's offers information, research tools, and sources including e-books, images, timelines, and videos.
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic Edition provides full-text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Britannica Academic includes additional relevant content, including websites, a world atlas, photos, articles, and news feeds.
Chilton Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chilton Library delivers reliable automotive help to auto repair professionals and hobbyists. Chilton Library includes access to maintenance schedules and repair procedures, including diagrams, photographs, and illustrations. In addition, the Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) test prep is provided.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Films On Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand: Master Academic Package offers clips and full-length educational videos on a wide range of subjects. These videos include documentaries, news, educational content, interviews, dramatic productions, and performances. Faculty can visit guide for instructions on utilizing Films on Demand in their courses.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides differing views on current issues, controversial issues, and topics requiring a diversity of viewpoints supporting science, social studies, current events, and language arts research through viewpoint essays, topic overviews, court case overviews, periodical articles, reference book entries, and news radio transcripts.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Science is a database that searches for resources in most science subject areas, providing a view of topics in context with society, history, innovation, globalism, ethics, future trends, and more. The content provided includes reference sources, magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Gale Legal Forms This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale's Legal Forms provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms from common legal areas, including real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord-tenant agreements, and many others. Access to this database does not provide legal advice nor indicate that the library can offer legal advice.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources searches across these databases: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, and The Times Digital Archive.
Grove Music Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is intended for background and in-depth research in music, musicians, music-making, and the history of music. Resources include The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2nd ed.), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2nd ed.), The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Note: This database has a limited license of 3 simultaneous users.
Heritage Quest (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest Online is a collection of American genealogical sources dating back to the 1700s, including unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The database consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses, Genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Records, Freedman’s Bank Records, and The LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set.
International Clinical Educators (ICE) Video Library This link opens in a new window
ICE Video Library is aimed at clinical educators in occupational and physical therapy, providing in-class or online video instruction, consisting of streaming video collections that feature real patients and therapists. The short video clips illustrate a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
JAMAevidence includes three textbooks: Users' Guides to the Medical Literature : a Manual for Evidence-based Clinical Practice, 2nd edition, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience. This database also includes education guides, glossary, calculators, learning tools, custom curriculum, audio content, and a library of slide sets covering EBM concepts.
Learning Express Library Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning Express Library is a resource organized into targeted centers, with tutorials, practice tests, ebooks, and video courses to help users improve core academic skills, pass the GED, prepare for college entrance exams, join the military, study for occupational certifications, navigate the job search process, and much more. To use this resource, users must create a personal account, enabling your progress to be saved.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is the Modern Language Associations definitive index for researching language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, composition, folklore, and film. Article citations are from journals, books, articles reprinted in book, series, and dissertations. This index is not full-text (citations only), but will link to the library's catalog, electronic book databases, and full text articles from Ebsco and other vendors, if available.
NewsBank America's News: Texas This link opens in a new window
This database includes image editions of 12 Texas Newspapers. At the database interface, type "image" in the second text box labeled "Enter any keyword to refine sources."
Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. It traces the usage of words through quotations from traditional print sources, online publications, and established web sources. The current online version of the OED is derived from the printed second edition of 1989, which is in turn based on the original edition published 1884-1928.
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 163 languages with Personalized Courses, movies, music, and more. Includes new COVID-19 language course in 101 languages.
Psychiatry Online (American Psychiatric Publishing) This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline provides a collection of full text resources from the American Psychiatric Association, including the DSM Library, 5 peer-reviewed journals, professional news, and specialized reference books. In addition, access to the site includes professional guidelines, patient education tools, and professional podcasts. The DSM Library includes DSM-5, the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases, the Spanish Edition, and the Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview.
Times Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides full-text access to legal encyclopedias and law reviews, cases, federal administrative materials, statutes and legislative materials, federal and state constitutions, and European Union library of legal materials.

Kristen Cook, Librarian

Kristen Cook
Coordinator, Library Research & Instruction
MCC Learning Commons
kcook@mclennan.edu
254-299-8327