SPCH 1315 (Public Speaking) Prof. T. Cox

Informative Speaking Assignment

• Choose a topic for research. Consult this "Background Information" page for assistance in doing background research to explore possible topics.
• Use the library's search tools to locate four articles that discuss your topic.
  • Professor Cox has asked for 4 sources, 2 of which must be published in the last 3 years.
  • Remember to locate information that supports an informative speech, not a persuasive speech.
    • Remain neutral and objective during your discussion of a topic.
    • If you choose to discuss existing arguments on a topic, you should cover both the pros and cons (and you should not allow your audience to know which side of the argument you support).
• There are videos below to help you research in individual databases, and the Database Research Sprint at the bottom of the page will teach you advanced research techniques. Use the arrow on the right side of that box to navigate through the pages of the sprint.
• If you have trouble finding appropriate articles, ask an MCC librarian for help by stopping by the library or by using the links in the "Get Research and Citation Help" box on this page.

"What the heck is a database?"

A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. They then charge an access fee to organizations or individuals who wish to access the information stored in their databases.

MCC Library Services pays that access fee for faculty, staff, and most students (with the exception of continuing-education students.) In fact, we provide you with access to 162 databases. View the Databases A-Z list to see a description of every database we provide.

Watch the video below before visiting single databases to help you understand how they work.

On the "How to Begin" page you learned how to use the library's primary search tool located on the library homepage. This tool searches all our available full-text research databases providing access to magazines, journals, newspapers, eBooks, primary sources, and streaming video. You will also want to search individual databases if you need to locate information and sources of a particular format or subject area. Below are links to our main databases page and some commonly used databases.

Most commonly used individual databases for most topics are listed below:

"What the heck is a periodical?"

A periodical is a publication that is published on a regular, ongoing basis. It might be published daily, weekly, monthly, or at some other regular interval. 

Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals. 

Persuasive Speaking Assignment

• Choose a topic for research.
• Use the library's search tools to locate articles that discuss your topic.
• There are videos below to help you research in individual databases, and the Database Research Sprint at the bottom of the page will teach you advanced research techniques. Use the arrow on the right side of that box to navigate through the pages of the sprint.
• There are two databases that are especially useful for this assignment. Those databases are CQ Researcher and Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.
  • Both of these sources provide pro and con arguments for controversial issues and link out to supporting articles and evidence. 
  • Both of these sources are accessible through the MC Library's list of Databases A-Z. (Follow the link and search for each database by name in the search bar--or just scroll to the correct journal in the alphabetical list.)
  • These databases work differently from the library's main database, so there are videos below to teach you how to use each. They are simple to learn.
• If you have trouble finding appropriate articles, ask an MCC librarian for help by stopping by the library or by using the links in the "Get Research and Citation Help" box on this page.

Databases that provide opposing opinions on topics: