Research Guides: Begin Your Research: Background Info

Background Research

Researching background information is an important part of your research process when:

Choosing a research topic if one has not already been assigned
Narrowing a research topic if your topic is too broad
Learning more about a topic to help you outline and plan your searches

If you are doing background research to learn more about your topic, you probably won't cite it in your paper, especially if you use very general, non-academic sources. However, check your assignment directions to make sure. You might be asked to cite general sources. Background information comes from a variety of places, such as encyclopedias, magazines, newspapers, subject-specific encyclopedias, and websites. Some sources, not used in academic research, can still provide general information, such as Wikipedia, Britannica.com, and ChatGPT.

Find two video tutorials on this page that cover topic selection, narrowing research focus, and conducting background research. Additionally, this page offers recommended search tools and resources for your research topic.

Do you need to pick a research topic? Here are some tips and resources to help you out.

Choosing a Topic

Find your passion

Choose an intriguing topic that meets the assignment requirements. Be creative and explore fresh ideas. Narrow down your focus using the five W's (Who, What, When, Where, and Why). If your topic seems too limited, expand it by considering geographic regions, time periods, or specific groups.

Search for Inspiration

Utilize MCC Library Services' research guides to get inspired. Browse through the Website tab for a wealth of subject areas. If your assignment involves current events or argumentative topics, check out the guide on Current and Controversial Issues. To spark more ideas, search news sites and databases.

In summary, get creative, be unique, and uncover untapped territories for your research.

Recommended Resources

Research Guides by Subject
Use this link to browse the Library's subject-based Research Guides to locate topic ideas, research databases, recommended books, and reputable websites.
Current & Controversial Issues Research Guide
Use this research guide to find information, resources, and search tips related to pro/con issues.

CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Waco-Tribune Herald (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
The full-text electronic editions of the Waco Tribune-Herald.

Associated Press
- Associated Press is a general news agency that has existed for over 175 years. It is well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports with neutral, non-inflammatory language.
The New York Times
The New York Times is a daily newspaper that has existed for 170 years. It is well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports and investigative journalism. However, some of its news analysis/opinion pieces may embrace liberal ideals.
more...less...
Are you an MCC student or a member of faculty or staff? If so, sign up for free access to the NYT through the MCC Library. (Excludes continuing education students.)
Reuters
- Reuters is a general news agency that has existed for nearly 170 years. It is also well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports with neutral, non-inflammatory language.
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is a daily business-focused newspaper that has existed for 170 years. It is well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports. However, some of its news analysis/opinion pieces may embrace conservative ideals.
more...less...
Are you an MCC student or a member of faculty or staff? If so, sign up for free access to the WSJ through the MCC Library. (Excludes continuing education students.)

Picking your topic is research!

The video above explains the importance of background research in selecting a research topic. It also discusses how searching for information can help narrow or broaden the topic. The video is hosted on YouTube by North Carolina State University Libraries.

Learning More About a Topic

Blue Button with Words "Learn More"

After using research to select a topic, do some additional background research to shape your targeted topic or thesis, generate research questions, and contribute to an outline or plan. Again, these sources of background information probably won't be cited in your final paper, but will simply help you learn more. Take notes as you read and learn.

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
The online Encyclopedia Britannica will provide useful overviews of topics, but unless allowed by your instructor will not be a source that you cite.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of current issues. Usually, you can cite this as a source, unless you can only use peer-reviewed journals.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks provide the full text of subject-specific reference sources published by Gale. Use these sources for background information and check with your instructor if you can cite subject-specialized reference eBooks.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides differing views on current issues from viewpoint essays, periodical articles, reference book entries, and news sources. You should be able to use most of the information found here as citations in your source list.
Reference Shelf (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
Reference Shelf is a collection of eBooks published by Salem Press, covering topics in literature, history, science, health, and careers. Use these titles for background information and check with your instructor about citing these sources.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia can be researched to locate background information and to locate possible sources of information from an article's references. Wikipedia provides a how-to guide on the strength and limitations of research using the online multi-author platform.

Wrapping Up

The following embedded tutorial addresses concepts from this page and the next tab labeled Research Questions. The tutorial is provided courtesy of an MCC Library subscription service called Niche Academy.

Begin Your Research: Background Info