Databases and Articles - OTHA 1305 (Principles of Occupational Therapy) - Prof. C. Smadja - Research Guides at McLennan Community College

Using the MCC Library's Search Features

The video below will teach you the basics of using the MCC Library's search engine (which is located on the library's homepage). It incudes information on:

search basics
signing in
the item-preview page
accessing items
accessing more information about an item
narrowing your search results
- Hint: You will need to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles
- Hint: You will need to limit your results by age (no more than 5 years old, but preferably no more than 3 years old)

The video below will teach you to use the cite, share, and save button's on the item-preview screen.

The video below will teach you to find more information about a search result by accessing its record page.

Journals and Trade Publications

Journals

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Journal of Rehabilitation and Assistive Technologies Engineering
- Full Text to present in Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Journal of Therapeutic Horticulture
- Full Text in Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
New Zealand Journal of Occupational Therapy
Occupational Therapy International
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics
- Full Text to present in CINAHL Complete (Ebsco)
Rehabilitation Process and Outcome
- Full Text to present in Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Work: A Journal of Prevention, Assessment, and Rehabilitation
- Full Text to present in CINAHL Complete

Trade Publications

Communique
- Full Text to present in CINAHL Complete (Ebsco)
Occupational Therapy Now
- Full Text to present in Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest)

Additional Research Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health is intended for health care researchers and students, with full-text titles made available that are cited in CINAHL.
Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Content comes from 7 different ProQuest health and medical databases. This database is recommended for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even patients and their families.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
International Clinical Educators (ICE) Video Library This link opens in a new window
ICE Video Library is aimed at clinical educators in occupational and physical therapy, providing in-class or online video instruction, consisting of streaming video collections that feature real patients and therapists. The short video clips illustrate a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings. Instructions: Enter your MCC email address (@mclennan.edu or @students.mclennan.edu) to access the system, and optionally check the "Remember me" box to simplify future logins.

Ebooks and Databases for Background and Reference Information

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central from ProQuest provides access to a large collection of electronic books covering a wide range of subjects, including Business, Education, Engineering and Technology, Medicine, and the Humanities. eBooks can be read online; chapters can be printed, emailed or downloaded; and downloaded eBooks can be read offline for two weeks. All eBooks are searchable from the Library Search Tool.
eBook Collection (eBooks on EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's eBook Collection provides searchable, full-text of eBooks, including many in Spanish. eBooks can be read online; chapters can be printed, emailed or downloaded; and downloaded eBooks can be read offline for two weeks. All eBooks are searchable from the Library Search Tool.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks provides the full-text of subject-specific reference sources published by Gale. Entire books may be browsed or individual entries discovered using the search interface. All eBooks may be searched for using the Library Search Tool.
R2 Digital Library (Nursing and Allied Health, Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
R2 Digital Library provides access to a collection of eBook titles related to nursing and allied health fields.

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
Click Settings and then Library links
Type MCC Library and hit enter
Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
Click Save
Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

google scholar