Texas History

Biography Reference Bank has 500,000 in-depth and original profiles including full-text articles, images, and abstracts from established magazines and journals.

The Eighteenth Century Collections offer full text access to a large collection of items relevant to historical primary source research, including books, pamphlet, essays, and broadsides of works published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. The works are primarily in English, although some are in other languages.

The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. It has searchable full-text and includes nearly 27,000 encyclopedic entries that focus on the entire history of Texas and emphasizes the role Texans have played in state, national, and world history.

HeritageQuest Online is a collection of American genealogical sources dating back to the 1700s, including unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The database consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses, Genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Records, Freedman’s Bank Records, and The LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images of numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.

Texas Reference Center is a Texas specific product comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains more than 75 full text periodicals, 150 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more.