Research Guides: ENVR 1301: Endangered or Threatened Species: Library Resources

Recommended Databases

You can search the library's main search engine from the library homepage OR you can choose to search individual databases, listed below.

Using the Library's Search Engine (YouTube Playlist)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile is a multidisciplinary database for locating scholary journals and periodicals. In addition, the collection provides access to authoritative podcasts, audio transcripts, and videos from NPR, CNN, and BBC Worldwide Learning.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies provides a search to explore environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Science is a database that searches for resources in most science subject areas, providing a view of topics in context with society, history, innovation, globalism, ethics, future trends, and more. The content provided includes reference sources, magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The National Geographic Virtual Library includes full-text National Geographic magazines from 1888 forward with unlimited simultaneous access, full-text eBooks published by National Geographic in their original formatting, and images, maps, and videos developed by National Geographic.
ProQuest Community College This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Community College searches multiple full-text databases covering most subject areas in academic research.

Ebook Collections

McLennan Community College subscribes multiple eBook collections, listed below. Some of the databases provide access to academic books, while Gale eBooks provides access to eBooks with reference and background information.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central from ProQuest provides access to a large collection of electronic books covering a wide range of subjects, including Business, Education, Engineering and Technology, Medicine, and the Humanities. eBooks can be read online; chapters can be printed, emailed or downloaded; and downloaded eBooks can be read offline for two weeks. All eBooks are searchable from the Library Search Tool.
eBook Collection (eBooks on EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's eBook Collection provides searchable, full-text of eBooks, including many in Spanish. eBooks can be read online; chapters can be printed, emailed or downloaded; and downloaded eBooks can be read offline for two weeks. All eBooks are searchable from the Library Search Tool.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks provides the full-text of subject-specific reference sources published by Gale. Entire books may be browsed or individual entries discovered using the search interface. All eBooks may be searched for using the Library Search Tool.

Books and Ebooks

Below is a list of recommended books on endangered animals. But these are only a handful of our relevant books, you can use the library's main search located on the homepage to find more books about the animal or aspect of animal conservation you are studying. Links to tutorials on using the library's main search are included below these recommended titles.

Library Stacks: The non-Electronic books on endangered animals we have are primarily located in the QLs. When you find a book in the main library search engine that you want, write down its full call number so that you can find it in the stacks.

Animal Life by American Museum of Natural History
Call Number: QL 751 .A55 U4 2008z Oversize
Publication Date: 2008
More than three thousand full-color photographs, accompanied by detailed captions, sidebars, and explanations, provide a definitive look at the animal kingdom, in a volume, organized by behavioral traits, that examines every aspect of animal behavior, including courtship rituals, family relationships, hunting techniques, feeding habits, and defense mechanisms.
The ark and beyond: The evolution of zoo and aquarium conservation by Minteer, B., Maienschein, J., and Collins, J. (eds)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Gathering a diverse, multi-institutional collection of leading zoo and aquarium scientists as well as historians, philosophers, biologists, and social scientists, 'The Ark and Beyond' traces the history and underscores the present role of these organizations as essential conservation actors.
Endangered Animals by Miller, B., and Reading, R.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2000
An introduction to these issues and how to resolve them is provided in this unique collection of case studies of animal species that have been pushed to the brink of extinction. Each case study provides the following information: - Common name - Scientific name - Order - Family - Status - Threats - Habitat - Distribution - Natural history - Conflicting Issues - Future and Prognosis.
Endangered Species by Jan A. Randall
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018-01-18
This book begins with an introduction that addresses major threats and extinctions in history, discusses the geographical and cultural contexts in which these incidents happened, highlights other key moments along the endangered species timeline, and clearly shows why the topic of endangered species matters.
Lost Animals by Whitfield, J.
Call Number: QL 88 .W45 2020 Oversize
Publication Date: 2020
Lost Animals tells the story of life on Earth by documenting the species that have emerged and disappeared over countless millennia. The book concludes with 100 species profiles, dating from around 600 million years ago up to present day, and concludes with a discussion of Lazarus species (thought extinct but surviving) and conservation hope for our most endangered animals.
Texans on the brink: Threatened and endangered animals by Chapman, B. and Lutterschmidt, W. (eds)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Texans on the Brink brings together experts on eighty-eight endangered and threatened animal species of Texas and includes brief descriptions of the processes that state and federal agencies employ to list and protect designated species. Species accounts include a description of the species accompanied by a photograph, an easy-to-read account of the biology and ecology of the species, and a description of efforts underway to preserve the species and its required habitat.
Wild Life by Braverman, I.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Wild Life documents a nuanced understanding of the wild versus captive divide in species conservation. It also documents the emerging understanding that all forms of wild nature-both in situ (on-site) and ex situ (in captivity)-may need to be managed in perpetuity. Providing a unique window into the high-stakes world of nature conservation, Irus Braverman describes the heroic efforts by conservationists to save wild life.