Research Guides: Environmental Science: Databases/Articles

Overview

McLennan offers a number of Environmental Science-specific databases. You can search for academic articles, news articles, and more! We have gathered a list of the most pertinent resources on this page.

Environmental Science Database

These databases cover different topics related to the environmental science including: environment and society, wildlife management, air and water quality, and forestry.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large, broad topic database which is an excellent place to start research. Academic Search Complete over 9,000 different journals to search.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database provides access to geoscience literature, including references to geoscience maps, serial literature, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides research from scholarly, governmental and general interest sources on environmental issues and efforts to minimize negative impacts within a variety of disciplines, including agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. The database includes such topics as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

News Articles

Environmental Science news can be found in a number of places.

You can search for news articles about Environmental Science in our dedicated news databases. They are:

America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
This Newsbank collection provides current full-text access to a small collection of popular news magazines, including The Atlantic and Newsweek, as well as backfiles of other U.S. magazines, including Commentary, Parenting, New Yorker, and Vanity Fair.
NewsBank America's News: Texas This link opens in a new window
This Newsbank collection provides cover to cover full text and some image editions of major Texas newspapers, including the Waco-Tribune Herald, Houston Chronicle, Dallas Morning News, Austin American-Statesman, and Fort Worth Star-Telegram.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full-text articles from national, regional, and international newspapers, as well as transcripts from television and radio.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the full-text of current and extensive backfiles of U.S. newspapers, news services, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.