The Cambridge Companion to Amy Beach makes her life and music accessible to a new generation of listeners. It outlines her remarkable talent as a child prodigy, her marriage to a prominent physician twice her age, and her subsequent international acclaim as a composer and piano virtuoso.
Bestselling author Jo Nick Patoski recounts both the ups and downs of Selena's life, as well as her stunning transformation into a sensual Latina superstar. Most of all, he pays tribute to the life of this one-of-a-kind talent and a young life cut short by murder, but one that will never be forgotten.
Considers the performer's career and emergence as an icon within the political and cultural transformations in the United States during the 1990s, a decade that witnessed a "Latin explosion" in culture and commerce alongside a resurgence of anti-immigrant discourse and policy.
To Selena, with Love is an everlasting love story that immortalizes the heart and soul of an extraordinary, unforgettable, and irreplaceable icon. This commemorative edition includes photos and a special chapter detailing the author's reflection since writing the book.
An essential career guide for those who love music and are exploring different areas beyond the obvious performer route.
This book considers how global capitalism has upset the symbolic economy of "Mexican" cultural discourse. It focuses on the cultural processes through which people contest ideas about race, gender, and sexuality; reframe ideas of memory, history, and belonging; and negotiate the experiences of dislocation that affect them.
Written with remarkable candor and humor, Spears's groundbreaking book illuminates the enduring power of music and love--and the importance of a woman telling her own story, on her own terms, at last
Written by local author and MCC professor, Dr. Richard Driver, this book examines the cultural significance of the Beatles and the solo career of Paul McCartney re-emerging from, re-connecting with, and ultimately representing the Beatles legacy
The Game Music Toolbox provides readers with the tools, models, and techniques to create and expand a compositional toolbox, through a collection of 20 iconic case studies taken from different eras of game music. Discover many of the composition and production techniques behind popular music themes from games such as Cyberpunk 2077, Mario Kart 8, The Legend of Zelda, Street Fighter II, Diablo, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, The Last of Us, and many others.
"At the start of the twentieth century throughout much of the United States and Europe, fuelled by the enduring image of the 'new woman', 'femme nouvelle', and 'neuer Frau', there were wide-spread media discussions about women's roles in society and culture - what these roles were and what they should be. The debates took place as more and more women of all classes and nationalities, refusing any longer to accept subservient, domestic positions, were moving into many different areas of public life with increasing confidence, independence, and determination"-- Provided by publisher
The Jazz Standards is an essential comprehensive guide to some of the most important jazz compositions, telling the story of more than 250 key jazz songs and providing a listening guide to more than 2,000 recordings.
Offering a comprehensive theory of form in rock music, the premise is that rock songs are cohesive entities, gradually unfolding through time a unified musical structure. Their formal components are not merely discrete elements arranged in succession but interdependent, dialogic utterances.
Tania León's achievements encompass but also stretch far beyond contemporary classical music. Nuanced and multifaceted, Tania León's Stride looks at the life, legacy, and milieu that created and sustained one of the most important figures in American classical music.
Historical Dictionary of Choral Music, Second Edition contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 1,300 cross-referenced entries on composers, conductors, choral ensembles, choral genres, and choral repertoire.
French art song, or mélodie, was one of the most radical and exploratory artforms of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. It was also among the most intimate, a genre of experimentation, hesitation and unfiltered artistic conversation.
We see Don Giovanni as much more than the tale of a single libertine aristocrat and as a standard-bearer for changing myths about eros and for how we socialize (and represent in performance) sexual and power relations that run the gamut from seduction, to predatoriness, to rape.
Explores relationship between the ideology of freedom and ideals of cultural achievement.
Examines Taylor Swift’s art, her public image, and Swiftie fan communities.
For every star, there are hundreds of less-recognized women who contribute to musical communities. Hidden Harmonies: Women and Music in Popular Entertainment focuses not on those whose names are best known nor most celebrated but on the women who had power in collective or subversive ways hidden from standard histories.
Claude Debussy was that rare creature, a composer who reinvented the language of music without alienating the majority of music lovers. He is the modernist everyone loves. How did he manage this?
We have long regarded Beethoven as a great composer, but we rarely appreciate that he was also an eminently political artist. This book unveils the role of politics in his oeuvre, elucidating how the inherently political nature of Beethoven's music explains its power and endurance.
This book explores innovations in late-medieval music writing as well as how modern scholarship on notation has informed--sometimes erroneously--ideas about the premodern era.
In this groundbreaking union of art and science, soprano, musicologist, and physician Patricia Caicedo explores the connection between music-its performance, how we listen to it, why we enjoy it-and health.
The audiobook edition of How Women Made Music: A Revolutionary History brings listeners closer than ever to their creative heroes. Featuring rare interview excerpts with Nina Simone, Sinead O’Connor, Lucinda Williams, Joni Mitchell, Taylor Swift, Solange, and many more.
Rocking in the Free World explains how Americans came to believe they had learned the truth about rock 'n' roll, a truth shaped by the Cold War anxieties of the fifties, the countercultural revolutions (and counter-revolutions) of the sixties and seventies, and the end-of-history triumphalism of the eighties.
In Language of the Spirit, renowned music scholar Jan Swafford argues that we have it all wrong: classical music has something for everyone and is accessible to all.
This “first comprehensive anthology of the marriage between hip-hop and luxury fashion” (The Cut) draws on exclusive interviews to tell the story of the hip-hop artists, designers, stylists, and unsung heroes who fought the power and reinvented style around the world over the last fifty years.
BTS shares personal, behind-the-scenes stories of their journey so far through interviews and more than three years of in-depth coverage by Myeongseok Kang, who has written about K-pop and other Korean pop culture in various media.
In June 2021, the whole world was listening as Britney Spears spoke in open court. The impact of sharing her voice—her truth—was undeniable, and it changed the course of her life and the lives of countless others.
In Unmasked, written in his own inimitable, quirky voice, the revered, award-winning composer takes stock of his achievements, the twists of fate and circumstance which brought him both success and disappointment, and the passions that inspire and sustain him.
The co-founder of The Cure and author of Cured delivers a fascinating deep dive into the dark romanticism of Goth music, a misunderstood genre and culture.
How Music Works is David Byrne’s incisive and enthusiastic look at the musical art form, from its very inceptions to the influences that shape it, whether acoustical, economic, social or technological.
La Nueva Música Clásica es una exploración personal y profunda sobre el rock: la revolución musical que comenzó en los años cincuenta con el rock'n'roll, dio la vuelta al mundo en los años sesenta a la cabeza de los Beatles y transformó la música popular para siempre con las experimentaciones de el movimiento hippie y los que siguieron.
Estudio analítico de las 32 sonatas de Beethoven escritas entre 1782 y 1822. Las interpretaciones de las obras de Beethoven, realizadas por Hans von Bulow, pianista y director de orquesta alemán, sirvieron de modelo para toda una generación.
Una conversación íntima y profundamente personal sobre música y escritura entre el autor de best sellers internacionalmente aclamado y el ex director de la Orquesta Sinfónica de Boston. Absolutely on Music es una mirada sin precedentes a las mentes de dos maestros.
El objetivo de este libro es recopilar y arreglar buenas piezas musicales, creando nuevas partituras para piano que sean claras de leer y mantengan su sonido original. Estas partituras son adaptaciones de las originales, con un nivel de dificultad pianística medio, muy asequible para un estudiante o pianista de cualquier edad.
A lo largo de la lectura de este libro, el lector irá adquiriendo sin dificultad esos conocimientos que le permitirán realizar un análisis de cualquier obra musical, básico pero suficiente para experimentar el disfrute de «entender» la música que tanto le gusta escuchar.
Con este libro aprenderás los trucos más ingeniosos para que, desde casa, tu creación llegue lo más lejos posible dentro y fuera del mundo digital.
This volume addresses Boulton's groundbreaking photographic practice, his central role in the construction of a modern national artistic canon, and his influence in formalizing and developing art history and criticism in Venezuela.
Power, Image, and Memory examines a wide variety of artistic traditions, showing how art commemorating historical events can shape collective memory, and with it, the identities of social groups and nations.
Commissioning, conception, execution, transportation, installation, re-location, the public's bemused and often fond reception, subsequently frequent re-positionings, and so much more of the nation's first monument to George Washington. Horatio Greenough's statue rests at the heart of an amazing, never before told tale.
This book offers a new assessment of modern Jewish art and literature and shows how Jewish primitivism troubles the boundary between observer and observed, cultured and "primitive," colonizer and colonized.
Comprehensive yet fun and accessible guide to drawing manga.
Shows how artists have used and continue to use graphic arts as a means to engage the public, address social justice concerns, and wrestle with shifting notions of the term Chicano.
How race and gender shaped the presentation and marketing of Modernist decor in postwar America.
Clements illuminates the anime business from the inside - investigating its innovators, its unsung heroes and its controversies.
In this dazzlingly original reassessment of women's stories, bodies, and art, Lauren Elkin--the celebrated author of Flâneuse--explores the ways in which feminist artists have taken up the challenge of their work and how they not only react against the patriarchy but redefine their own aesthetic aims.
Kafka's drawings span his full career, but he drew most intensively in his university years, between 1901 and 1907. An entire booklet of drawings from this period is among the many new discoveries, along with dozens of loose sheets.
Organized around topics of autobiography, Black labor, artistic process, and gift exchange, Monahan reveals the range of references and critiques encoded in his work and the racial, class, and cultural dynamics that informed his meteoric career.
Becoming America offers a multifaceted view of one of the foremost collections of 18th- and 19th-century American folk and decorative art from the rural Northeast.
.El estudio de las ánforas de Sidi Zahruni nos ha permitido hacer una importante contribución al conocimiento del comercio entre África y el Mediterráneo occidental en la época tardorromana, planteando la cuestión de los productos contenidos en estas ánforas.
Este estudio analiza una de las series cerámicas importadas, conocida como 'la serie blanca lisa', recuperada en el yacimiento arqueológico del antiguo Convento de San Francisco de Asís, fundado a finales del siglo XV, en Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
An examination of the balance between modernity and tradition in Cuba's turn-of-the-century artistic evolution. The Lost Generation | La generación perdida accompanies an exhibition of the same name at the McMullen Museum of Art, Boston College.
This is Holland and its great artists as we've never seen them before. And it's a highly personal coming-of-age-story, twenty years in the making: a revealing self-portrait by one of the most acclaimed writers of his generation.
In Fabric, bestselling author Victoria Finlay spins us round the globe, weaving stories of our relationship with cloth and asking how and why people through the ages have made it, worn it, invented it, and made symbols out of it.
A biography of the great portraitist Frans Hals that takes the listener into the turbulent world of the Dutch Golden Age.
In the 'luminous' (Daily Beast) Leonardo da Vinci, Isaacson describes how Leonardo's delight at combining diverse passions remains the ultimate recipe for creativity.
While the Civil War raged in America, another very different revolution was beginning to take shape across the Atlantic, in the studios of Paris: The artists who would make Impressionism the most popular art form in history were showing their first paintings amidst scorn and derision from the French artistic establishment.
While the history of this African-American awakening has been widely explored, one chapter remains untold: the story of a group of women collectively dubbed "Miss Anne."Sexualized and sensationalized in the mainstream press—portrayed as monstrous or insane—Miss Anne was sometimes derided within her chosen community of Harlem as well. While it was socially acceptable for white men to head uptown for "exotic" dancers and "hot" jazz, white women who were enthralled by life on West 125th Street took chances.
The Pixar Touch is a lively chronicle of Pixar Animation Studios' history and evolution, and the "fraternity of geeks" who shaped it. With the help of visionary businessman Steve Jobs and animating genius John Lasseter, Pixar has become the gold standard of animated filmmaking, beginning with a short special effects shot made at Lucasfilm in 1982 all the way up through the landmark films Toy Story, Finding Nemo, Wall-E, and others.
A beautifully illustrated study of mosaic art in Greco-Roman Egypt. The aim is to better understand the artistic and artisanal production of a type of decoration that played an important role within the living environment of the ancients.
Faithful apostle and seductress to feminist icon, Mary Magdalene's many complex roles in Christian history have fascinated us for 2000 years. This visual history reveals how images and presentations have created a Mary who is often far different from the real woman, the first witness of the Resurrection .
The contributors to A View of Venice: Portrait of a Renaissance City draw on a high-resolution digital scan of the over nine-foot-wide composite print to examine the complexities of this extraordinary woodcut and portrayal of early modern Venetian life.
This book is a guide to identifying female creators and artistic movements from all parts of Asia, offering a broad spectrum of media and presentation representing a wide variety of milieus, regions, peoples and genres.
The ultimate beginner's guide to accurately rendering the human head, entirely devoted to the artistic study of the human head and its deep capacity for detail and expression. The book emphasizes the importance of understanding the relationships between facial features and the planes of the head.
Allows artists to develop drawing skills by demonstrating how to start with basic shapes and use pencil and shading techniques to create varied textures, values, and details for a realistic, completed portrait drawing. With this step-by-step guide, you'll be rendering realistic portraits in no time.
Explores the history of interior decorating and design from the late nineteenth century to the present, highlighting careers and contributions of significant American female interior designers who were instrumental in the creation of the field of residential and commercial interior design in the United States.
Martha H. Kennedy brings special attention to forms that have heretofore received scant notice--cover designs, editorial illustrations, and political cartoons--and reveals the contributions of acclaimed cartoonists and illustrators, along with many whose work has been overlooked.
Those looking to enter this field have many career options from which to choose, including the animation itself, as well as script-writing, directing, voice-acting, marketing, and tie-in product development.
Listen to the artists of the Brazilian Northeast. Their work, they say, comes of continuity and creativity. Continuity runs along lines of learning toward social coherence. What they say and do in Brazil aligns with ethnographic evidence from New Mexico and North Carolina; from Ireland, Portugal, and Italy; from Nigeria, Turkey, India, and Bangladesh; from China and Japan. This book is about folk art as a sign of human unity.
Reshaping scholarly discourse on the nature and significance of medieval art, generating fresh scholarly interpretations and important new critical tools for teaching and researching the Middle Ages.
This book examines how Mexican artisans and artistic actors participate in translations of aesthetics, politics, and history through the field of craft.
Vincent, girasoles contra el mundo es una obra doble de Mario Iván Martínez, pues reúne, en un mismo volumen, una biografía del pintor neerlandés y el texto de una obra de teatro que recrea los últimos años de su vida, su relación con su prima Kee, con Sien y con Gauguin, y su muerte.
En julio de 1880, Vincent le escribió una de sus cartas más importantes, la cual refleja sus pensamientos y emociones durante un período crucial de su carrera artística.Esta carta es un documento histórico que ilumina la psique de uno de los artistas más fascinantes y complicados en el mundo del arte.
Las domus de Bulla Regia (Tunisia): arquitectura y decoración musiva represents a contribution to the study of the architecture and decoration of the mosaic floors of the Roman private spaces of Bulla Regia, located in the northwest of Tunisia, in a rich and prosperous region thanks to its agriculture and olive oil production.
