In The Capital Order, political economist Clara E. Mattei explores the intellectual origins of austerity to uncover its originating motives: the protection of capital—and indeed capitalism—in times of social upheaval from below.
Counting Americans is a social history exploring the political stakes that pitted various interests and groups of people against each other as population categories were constantly redefined.
The Poverty Paradox represents a game changing examination of poverty and inequality. It provides the essential blueprint for finally combatting this economic injustice in the years ahead.
In this eye-opening book, Ruchika Tulshyan explains that we don't realize that inclusion takes awareness, intention, and regular practice. Inclusion doesn't just happen; we have to work at it. Tulshyan presents inclusion best practices, showing how leaders and organizations can meaningfully promote inclusion and diversity.
A case for why regionalization, not globalization, has been the biggest economic trend of the past forty years
An authoritative guide to global migration that corrects decades of misunderstanding and misguided policy
In Supply Chain: The Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review, articles by experts and researchers will help you understand the risks and identify solutions to these disruptions so that you can ensure a more resilient supply chain—without sacrificing competitive advantage.
In Game Changer, Jean-Manuel Izaret and Arnab Sinha simplify and clarify pricing strategy by integrating its many frameworks and concepts into seven distinct pricing games, each with its own proven tools, rules, forces, and structures.
Having a good, stable job used to be the bedrock of the American Dream. Not anymore.In this richly detailed and eye-opening book, Rick Wartzman chronicles the erosion of the relationship between American companies and their workers.
Beautifully written and impeccably researched, BEAVERLAND reveals the profound ways in which one odd creature and the trade surrounding it has shaped history, culture, and our environment.
Handbook contains numerous occupations profiles and includes information on: job duties; education and training needed; median pay; important qualities for the job; licenses, certification, and registrations needed; and contact information to learn more about the occupation.
How the subtle but significant consequences of a hotter planet have already begun - from lower test scores to higher crime rates - and how we might tackle them today. We can begin to overcome our climate anxiety, Park shows us, when we begin to tackle these problems locally.
Every day, over 10,000 Americans will become eligible for Medicare, but most don't even know the basics. Medicare expert Diane J. Omdahl will take you through all the steps to making the right decisions at the right time. Avoid costly mistakes and scams and ensure that Medicare works for you.
The diversity of the co-authors' experiences is woven together to create awareness and help us get involved in improving our diets, while reducing food waste and food's impacts on climate change and the planet.
Geared towards those who are just starting out, this volume outlines, step-by-step, how to make the most out of their money, which pitfalls to avoid, and what to watch out for, to give students peace of mind that they are fully equipped to manage their finances after graduation.
Explores the applicability of Western theories of fiscal development to non-Western contexts and highlights the role of colonial tax introductions for fiscal development and state formation in Africa and Asia, and compares the correlates of tax introduction across time and different types of tax.
This volume enriches scholars' understandings of the depth and complexity of military-market relations in U.S. history and offers today's military policymakers novel insights about the origins of current arrangements and how they might be reimagined
Precisely provides a blueprint for how professionals in the private and public sectors can use big data with precision systems, the highly engineered working arrangements of people, processes, and machines assembled to adapt data science for business purposes.
West considers why pushback against Amazon's ubiquity and market power has come mainly from among Amazon's workers rather than its customers or competitors, arguing that Amazon's brand logic fragments consumers as a political bloc.
Explores how the workforce science of today goes far beyond increasing efficiency and threatens to erase individual personhood. The Quantified Worker advocates for changes in the law that will mitigate the ill effects of the modern workplace.
Documents that rural places are often systems among systems that scientists and engineers heavily shape both in landscape and culture.
In Houston, Dallas, and Austin, residents and activists are fighting against massive, multi-billion-dollar highway expansions that will claim thousands of homes and businesses, entrenching segregation and sprawl. In City Limits, journalist Megan Kimble weaves together the origins of urban highways with the stories of ordinary people impacted by our failed transportation system.
Ondersma's new categories of debt - grounded in abolitionist principles - revolutionize how policymakers are able to think about debt. This will in turn revolutionize the American debt landscape itself. Forging a new path to financial security for all Americans.
Based on 20 years of research, this book lays out a proven and tested method for reaching the goal of employee happiness, analyzing individuals' communication patterns, and making them self-aware by mirroring their behavior back to them in a privacy-respecting way.
Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. For students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors.
This book offers students a philosophical introduction to the ethical foundations of business management. It combines lessons from Kant with virtue ethics and also touches upon additional approaches such as utilitarianism, and the concept of the "nexus of imperfect managerial duty."
The marketing world has long under-appreciated the buying power of adults over 65 years of age. In the current age of longevity, it's essential students engage with strategies to embrace all age groups. This text combines professional interviews, theory-based research, and practical exercises to supplement any strategic comm course.
A look at what kind of work Americans did, the homes they lived in, the goods they bought, the entertainment they sought, and the society and history that shaped their world
Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. For students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors.
Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. For students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors.
The first in-depth history of how J.P. Morgan responded to the greatest crisis in the history of financial capitalism. The book sheds new light on the Wall Street Crash, relations with Herbert Hoover and Franklin D. Roosevelt, the Great Depression and New Deal, as well as the coming of World War II.
The true power of land ownership is even greater than we might think. Political scientist Michael Albertus shows that who owns the land determines whether a society will be equal or unequal, whether it will develop or decline, and whether it will safeguard or sacrifice its environment.
A self-compassion blueprint for leaders who are closed-off, constantly on the verge of burnout, and/or trapped in the myth of perfectionism. Through this 6-step framework, leaders will learn that self-compassion is for the strong, to separate their title from their person, and how to care for themselves in order to care for others.
Younger workers are happy that Social Security protects their elders, but most do not expect benefits when needed. Designed for use in gerontology, social work, and public policy courses, this resource offers measured hope for leaving a legacy that safeguards the common good.
Un éxito de ventas histórico por una sencilla razón: lecciones de vida cruciales, transmitidas a través de una narrativa cautivadora. Los lectores aprenden a convertirse en quienes desean ser. Esta versión actualizada demuestra que esto es tan cierto ahora como siempre
Te guía a través de los diferentes usos de las tecnologías de punta que las generaciones Z y Alfa utilizan con fluidez en su vida diaria y que definirán el futuro del marketing.
Prestar atención a la salud mental en el lugar de trabajo nunca ha sido tan importante. Actualmente, una de cada cuatro personas atraviesa alguna situación que afecta a su bienestar emocional, por lo que es necesario que empecemos a hablar de ello.
A comparative analysis of the Iranian diasporic experience in the United States and Germany, focusing on the different processes of racialization of the immigrants. This important and timely book broadens our understanding of how unpredictable and fluid a sense of belonging to a country can be.
Argues that we best exercise our rational and political nature by participating together with others in political activity without an ulterior motive. Lucid in argumentation, original in approach, this book presents a strong case for a eudaimonic polity that firmly favors public interest over private interest.
Interposition became a much-used constitutional tool to monitor the federal government and organize resistance, beginning with the Constitution's ratification and continuing through the present affecting issues including gun control, immigration and health care.
The full story of New York Times v. Sullivan, the case that grew out of segregationists' attempts to quash reporting on the civil rights movement. In its landmark 1964 decision, the Supreme Court held that a public official must prove "actual malice" or reckless disregard of the truth to win a libel lawsuit.
An affecting and innovative global history - starting with the European children who fled the perils of World War II and ending with the Central American children who arrive every day at the U.S. southern border - Bradford traces the evolution of American policy toward unaccompanied children.
This expansive history of Black political thought shows us the origins - and echoes - of anticolonial liberation on a global scale. Younis gathers the work of writers, poets, journalists, editors, historians and political theorists whose insights speak urgently to contemporary movements for liberation.
Serving as both an accessible introduction for LIS students and a go-to reference for current practitioners, this book offers an incisive examination of the numerous ways in which law about information directly impacts the roles of information professionals and information institutions
In a sweep through seven centuries from 1350 to 2050, the work explains how catastrophes - pandemics, wars, and climate crisis - have shaped the destiny of empires and world orders.
This book analyses the laws, regulations, customs, and norms that affect public protest. It explains how the law of public protest imposes a system of 'managed dissent,' which has led to overly broad and punitive limits on public expression and collective protest.
Robin Dunford and Michael Neu provide a clear and comprehensive critique of both Just War Theory and the Responsibility to Protect (R2P) doctrine, deconstructing the philosophical, moral and political arguments that underpin them.
Carefully reviews some 200 cases, highlighting what the justices themselves have said in explaining their rulings. It also notes how the dissenting opinions are particularly valuable in explaining the dissenters' often accurate contentions that some decisions significantly changed prior precedent.
Cathleen D. Cahill tells the powerful stories of a multiracial group of activists who propelled the national suffrage movement toward a more inclusive vision of equal rights. Cahill reveals a new cast of heroines largely ignored in earlier suffrage histories.
En un análisis incisivo y exhaustivo de la actual situación internacional, Noam Chomsky sostiene que Estados Unidos, a través de sus políticas militares y su inquebrantable devoción por mantener un imperio mundial, corre el riesgo de una catástrofe y de arruinar los bienes comunes globales.
La derecha mexicana ha dominado las fuentes de poder formales y de facto del país, dirigiendo las políticas públicas y financieras y dominando el pensamiento crítico y el mundo académico. La prioridad ha sido proteger a los principales actores económicos públicos y privados del país, tanto nacionales como transnacionales, con una creciente inclinación hacia la corrupción.
Presenta un nuevo método para medir la efectividad del derecho ambiental nacional e internacional, proporcionando datos que resaltan tanto las áreas de mejora como las fortalezas en la aplicación de la ley.
Una mirada general a través de 500 años de existencia como pueblos civilizados desde la conquista, período colonial hasta la actualidad; y una evaluación del desarrollo cultural, social, político y religioso.
Un balance del estado del mundo que no está dispuesto a renunciar al optimismo, realizado por uno de los analistas más influyentes de la actualidad. Con un enfoque tranquilo y analítico de los problemas contemporáneos, Naim ofrece una batería de ideas indispensables para construir un futuro más próspero, libre y justo.
Proposes a systematization of the fundamental principles of Commercial Law and its impact on national and international contracts, delving into fundamental topics of the theory of law
Este libro ofrece una visión exhaustiva de la situación actual de los derechos humanos en el mundo, destacando tanto los logros como los desafíos pendientes
What is fascism? By focusing on the concrete: what the fascists did rather than what they said, the esteemed historian Robert O. Paxton answers this question for the first time.
Manville and Ober trace the long progression toward self-government through four key moments in democracy's history: Classical Athens, Republican Rome, Great Britain's constitutional monarchy, and America's founding, comparing what worked and what failed in each case.
In Humane: How the United States Abandoned Peace and Reinvented War, Samuel Moyn asks a troubling but urgent question: What if efforts to make war more ethical—to ban torture and limit civilian casualties—have only shored up the military enterprise and made it sturdier?
Ricks interprets how the ancient world shaped our constitution and government and offers startling new insights into our legendary leaders.
Greenhouse offers a fascinating institutional biography of a place and its people—men and women who exercise great power but whose names and faces are unrecognized by many Americans and whose work often appears cloaked in mystery.
Over the past two generations, U.S. leaders deregulated big business on the faith that it would yield a better economy and a freer society. But the opposite happened. Americans lost stable, well-paying jobs, Wall Street dominated industry to the detriment of the middle class and local communities, and corporations began to subject us to total surveillance
The classic bestseller from a two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist that tells the compelling true story of one man's fight for the right to legal counsel for every defendent. A history of the landmark case of Clarence Earl Gideon's fight for the right to legal counsel. Notes, table of cases, index. The classic backlist bestseller. More than 800,000 sold since its first pub date of 1964.
Dynamic, two-volume reference work covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. Over 400 information-packed entries explore the people, crimes, investigations and court cases behind 200 years of political scandals. Volume 2 covers topics T-Z, primary documents, appendiixes.
Dynamic, two-volume reference work covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. Over 400 information-packed entries explore the people, crimes, investigations and court cases behind 200 years of political scandals. Volume 1 covers topics A-S.
Covers ethics and the rules of practice for Enrolled Agents, including: professional standards and requirements; preparer and taxpayer penalties; assessment, collection, audit, and appeals procedures; the legal authority of the IRS; e-filing requirements; and much more.
An in-depth study guide for Part 2 of the IRS Enrolled Agent exam. Simple-to-understand language and numerous concrete examples help demystify complex tax law. PassKey Learning Systems also offers a three-part practice exam workbook with detailed answers and explanations, so you can test yourself.
Covers taxable and nontaxable income; filing requirements; adjustments, deductions, and credits; international tax reporting requirements for individuals; capital gains and losses; rental income; estate and gift taxes; individual retirement plans; and much more.
Presidential fundraising is an underexamined tool of modern presidential leadership and should be viewed as an instrument of presidential power akin to signing statements, executive orders, public speeches, and veto threats.
Looks at how our ideas about refugees and America’s status as an asylum country has changed over time.
The untold story of how one of America's most invincible institutions-the Treasury-has used the U.S. dollar to define America's role in the world, and our economic future
Acting as his own lawyer, Gideon is convicted and sent to jail. While in prison, he begins a hand-written campaign directed to the U.S. Supreme Court, contending that every defendant is entitled to legal representation. The Court agrees to hear Gideon's case, and, in a landmark decision, rules in his favor.
From the chief economics commentator of the Financial Times, a magnificent reckoning with how and why the marriage between democracy and capitalism is coming undone all over the world, and what can be done to reverse this terrifying dynamic.
American presidential debates have become chaotically performative, threatening to erode representative democracy by impeding thoughtful deliberation over who can best lead. The Audience Decides seeks to better understand the in-person audience and their influence on those observing this political spectacle by considering primal forms of communication: laughter, applause-cheering, and booing
Taking us through an exploration of the history of the Communist Party's reactions to foreign pressure, from condemnation of Mao's crackdowns in Tibet to outrage at the outbreak of COVID-19, analysis of a novel database drawn from state media archives, as well as multiple survey experiments and hundreds of interviews, Gruffydd-Jones shows that the CCP uses the most 'hostile' pressure strategically - and successfully - to push citizens to view human rights in terms of international geopolitics rather than domestic injustice, and reduce their support for change.
Analizando datos de la encuesta del Barómetro de las Américas (18 países latinoamericanos desde 2008 a 2012), los autores descubrieron que al igual que los votantes de cualquier democracia del mundo, los latinoamericanos responden a fuerzas de largo plazo tales como las clases sociales, los vínculos con partidos políticos y la ideología.
