The New Books lists are updated as they arrive in the library or online, so bookmark this page and check back frequently for the latest BOOKS and EBOOKS added to our physical and digital collections.
New books are located on the octagon tables next to the AST and Reference Staff desk.
Huerta is one of the great contributors to American history, labor history, women's history, and the history of activism, social justice, and human rights. Here, her story is told in a way that captures the full span of her life and achievements.
This book tells the story of this irreplaceable engineering tool that has helped cities accommodate continuous rise in traffic from the 1950s on. Beginning with UTDM's origins as a method to help plan new infrastructure,
Patriot Presidents: From George Washington to John Quincy Adams discusses the history of the founding fathers of the United States. Patriot Presidents focuses on the incumbencies of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, and John Quincy Adams.
Examines the biggest change in modern financial industry - the Fintech revolution - that denotes the close interaction between the financial services industry and latest information technologies such as big data, cloud computing, blockchain, and artificial intelligence.
Zelizer and Greenberg bring together the nation's top political scientists, historians, and legal scholars to examine how the lack of stability and integrity of the electoral process has become a threat to national security.
Blending economic sociology with business, labor, and social history, this book shows how social stratification shaped credit markets, with enduring consequences for class, race, and gender inequality
With detailed examples across industries - including retail, health care, banking, B2B, technology, fashion, and travel-this book will help executives learn how to put personalization at the center of their strategy, accelerate growth, and capture their share of the $2 trillion personalization prize.
Taking seriously the theological perspective of the "preferential option for the poor," this work contends that to avoid relegating poor people to nonhuman status, we must be willing to put aside the fantasy that AI is "intelligent" and focus rather on the all-too-human embodied reality of the poor.
An entertaining synthesis of Native American legal history across more than 100 years, reflecting on race, power, and sovereignty along the way. Embracing the subtle, winking wisdom of trickster stories, and centering on the Indigenous perspective, we can imagine a future that is more just and equitable.
A visionary program for national renewal, the Green New Deal aims to protect the earth's climate while creating good jobs, reducing injustice, and eliminating poverty. Its core principle is to use the necessity for climate protection as a basis for realizing full employment and social justice.
Economic thinking emerged, long before there were economists - and good economics is about much more than the economy, so everyone should understand these vital ideas. Along the way, the book quietly subverts what you think you know about economics.
Beyond explaining the unique nature of China's rise, this book provides insights into the next 25 years of Chinese power as well as policy guidance on how the U.S. can maintain a competitive edge in this new era of great power competition.
A comprehensive and compassionate guide to help families understand and navigate psychiatric hospitalization. Mark J. Russ, MD, offers patients and families essential support and vital information to navigate this challenging process, from admission to discharge.
The Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists is the gold standard for mental health clinicians looking for clear, reliable information about the pharmacological treatment of mental health conditions.
A contemporary overview of major adolescent issues and how they relate to one another, including the impacts of war, technology, and the pandemic on youth. In addition, a broad overview of the major biopsychosocial issues facing adolescents is offered.
Details the safety, mental health, and wellness issues in schools today and focuses on the interactions and collaborations needed among students, teachers, families, community members, and other professionals to foster the safety, learning, and well-being of all students.
A collective study of philosophical questions to do with experts and expertise, such as: Who decides who the experts are? Should we always defer to experts? What happens when the experts disagree? Must experts be unbiased? Does it matter what the source of the expertise is?
Hundreds of procedures and products have promised grand miracles but failed to deliver a universal cure. Weaving Virdi's own experiences together with her exploration into the fascinating history of deafness cures, Hearing Happiness is a powerful story that America needs to hear.
Our technology crazed, social media-obsessed world does nothing if not make us more self-focused. This book will help you harness the power of that focus and magnify your happiness, for yourself and the greater good. You don't even have to throw out your phone!
This serves as an indispensable resource, empowering healthcare professionals, IT experts, data scientists, and academicians to navigate the complexities of modern healthcare, leveraging innovative technologies to revolutionize patient care and system efficiency.
Every year an estimated 2.8 million people are hospitalized for injuries and more than 180,000 people die. Hurt takes us on a tour of the advancements in injury treatment from the battlefields of the Civil War to the state-of-the-art trauma centers of today to save our lives.
Abarca el seguimiento de los pacientes para aliviar su dolor - quirúrgico o no, agudo o crónico— y nos ofrece una visión general de cómo surgió, se implementó y evolucionó la anestesiología, y cómo, a lo largo de su historia, ha salvado tantas vidas en Colombia.
The third edition of Oncology Nurse Navigation provides novice and experienced nurse navigators with an overview of the role and models of navigation in cancer care methods to evaluate navigation outcomes, financial implications, and personalized medicine.
Vidas Futuras ofrece una visión realista de la inteligencia artificial y su impacto social. Si bien la IA planteará desafíos éticos y económicos, también posee un inmenso potencial para mejorar áreas fundamentales como el trabajo, la salud y la educación.
Life in the tents and towns that the Viking Great Army inhabited: treasure, tools, and weapons found in the camps and what they reveal about how the Army lived and the activities that took place, including the processing and trading of loot, the minting of coins, and the manufacture of jewellery.
Told through the lives of three remarkable artists devoted to the pursuit of liberty, an illuminating new history of the ideals that fired the American Revolution. The Painter's Fire reveals an extraordinary cohort whose experiences testify to both the promise and the limits of liberty in the founding era.
A new reading of Plato's philosophy that reveals it as deeply shaped by his experiences in Athens. Accessibly written, this book shows how Plato made Athens the place where diverse ideas were integrated into a new way of approaching the big questions about our lives, then and now.
An interdisciplinary team of scholars examine a conflict that, more than 80 years after its conclusion, continues to generate both scholarly and public controversy. The book's thematic structure means that opposing forces are examined together, facilitating comparison and fresh understanding.
July 30,1902. Thousands of mourners lined the streets of New York's Lower East Side to bid farewell to the city's chief rabbi, Talmudist Jacob Joseph. Scraps of steel, iron bolts, and scalding water from antisemitic factory workers injured hundreds. This is the first book-length account of the event.
Scattered, fragmentary remains collected from past settlements create meaningful, reasonable interpretations of past human history. Examples from the world of ancient aliens, mythical sunken cities, and mysterious creatures help readers learn how to separate reality from fiction.
Explicación de dos enseñanzas esenciales de Buda: el karma y el renacimiento. Enseña cómo trabajar con el karma inteligentemente para lograr cambios positivos en nuestros pensamientos, sentimientos y circunstancias.
A thematic encyclopedia that covers everything from geography and economics to etiquette and pop culture. The volume takes readers on a tour of contemporary Nigeria, helping them better understand the country and the many cultures, religions, and ethnicities that call it home.
Argues that American evangelicals were central to American-Iranian relations during the decades leading up to the 1979 revolution, and offers a history of people who shared personal, professional, and political aims in Iran at the height of American global power.
A French Creole community as it transitioned from a fur-trading, agricultural settlement under Spain to a critical American outpost on the Spanish/American frontier and finally to a commercial hub and jumping-off point for those heading west.
Raid and Reconciliation provides new insights into the Mexican Revolution and sheds light on the connections between violence and modernization. Lessons from this border story resonate in today's debates over migration, race, and what it means to be an American.
A roster of ten prominent contributors excavate Madison's thinking about key concepts and issues over questions of what the Constitution requires, permits, and prohibits. Madison's key role at the Constitution's drafting was instrumental in forging the document into what it is today.
Decolonizing the Map is the first book to systematically and comprehensively examine the engagement of mapping in the long - and clearly unfinished - parallel processes of decolonization and nation building in the modern world.
Un ensayo animado que reflexiona sobre el tipo de sociedad en la que vivimos y cómo resolver la gran paradoja de nuestro tiempo: que en la era de la abundancia, millones de personas sufren escasez.
A landmark edition that not only showcases the finest contemporary American poetry but also honors David Lehman's achievement as the anthology's founding editor. This year’s edition stands as a testament to David Lehman’s legacy - and to the enduring power of poetry.
Trifonov's work reflects the paradoxes of a culture that could neither honestly confront the past nor create a viable future, one that alternated between trying to address and attempting to obscure the trauma of Stalinism.
How have fairy tales from around the world changed over the centuries? What do they tell us about different cultures and societies? This book underscores the striking mobility and malleability of fairy tales written in the years 1450 to 1650.
A collection of letters written through the ages from musicians of all genres, from Mozart to Elton John. For tens of thousands of years, across various civilisations, our species has been creating music. But what is behind the human fascination with music?
Argues for ethical underpinning to all thought about development planning and public policy, and dramatically moves beyond the abstractions of economists and philosophers to embed thought about justice in the concrete reality of the struggles of poor women.
Una descripción innovadora de la historia de la lexicografía española, una crítica constructiva de los diccionarios existentes y una visión transformadora y optimista de la disciplina en el contexto de las nuevas tecnologías.
Through careful stylistic and contextual analysis, Nietzsche as Stylist explores how Nietzsche cultivated skills as a rhetorician and a writer to bring philosophy into a wider field of attention, thought, and experience.
A guide to talk to your kids about tough, existential topics like climate change, war, pandemics, and more, in order to create a healthy home, and process your emotions so that you can take meaningful action by raising resilient generations to come. This book offers hope.
This book demonstrates Austen's transformation of the courtship novel by using pastoral language to illuminate themes of human greed, the inequality between men and women, and the emotional development of young women in the early nineteenth century.
Rich evidence from the US drone campaign in Pakistan, the counterinsurgency against ISIL in Iraq, and the Syrian civil war provide the backdrop for practical lessons in promoting peace, fighting wars, managing conflict, and countering misinformation more effectively.
All Your Perfects is a profound novel about a damaged couple whose potential future hinges on promises made in the past. This is a heartbreaking page-turner that asks: Can a resounding love with a perfect beginning survive a lifetime between two imperfect people?
As Samantha plunges deeper into the Bunnies' sinister world, beginning to take part in the ritualistic off-campus "Workshop" where they conjure their monstrous creations, the edges of reality begin to blur. Soon, her friendships with Ava and the Bunnies will be brought into deadly collision.
Obsessed by creating life itself, Victor Frankenstein plunders graveyards for the material to fashion a new being, which he shocks into life by electricity. But his botched creature, rejected by Frankenstein and denied human companionship, sets out to destroy his maker and all that he holds dear.
Sixteen-year-old Jacob is diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.
Together, they will do anything to protect the children. But when Arthur is summoned to make a public statement about his dark past, he finds himself at the helm of a fight for the future that his family, and all magical people, deserve.
El mal siempre busca un punto de apoyo. No debemos dárselo. Tras una pérdida desgarradora, Lou, Reid, Beau y Coco están más decididos que nunca a vengarse, y nadie más que Lou. Una oscuridad se ha apoderado de ella, y esta vez hará falta algo más que amor para expulsarla.
Burning with the flame of free will, Adam can no longer restrain himself from the woman he loves. But as he returns to Nomaton, so does Sarai's dark influence, and Adam is forced to face the decaying house within - a house ready to collapse at any moment.
Sam has just published her first novel to critical acclaim. But at a New England stop on her book tour, her one-time frenemies, furious at the way they've been portrayed, kidnap her. Now a captive audience, it's her (and our) turn to hear the Bunnies' side of the story.
Sophie Hatter unwittingly attracts the attention of the Witch of the Waste and is transformed into an old woman. To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must infiltrate the ever-moving castle in the hills, handle the heartless Wizard Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch head-on.
With a violent organization called the Death Guard threatening Alano, his End Day might be closer than he thinks. It's time to live. Fate brings Paz and Alano together, but it's now up to the boys to survive the tragic trials ahead so no one dies at the end.
Linus Baker, case worker in the Department in Charge of Magical Youth, is tasked with determining if six magical children are likely to bring about the end of the world. Arthur Parnassus, master of the orphanage will do anything to keep the children safe, even if it means the world will burn.
Someone opposes Kate McKay’s message of female empowerment and is targeting her. Disrupting events, the stalker is growing bolder, and Holly Gibney is hired to be Kate's bodyguard - a challenging task with a headstrong employer and a determined adversary driven by wrath..
The Fantastic Four join the Blood Hunt and face down the vampires sinking their teeth into the Marvel Universe! But for all the FF's powers, can Mister Fantastic's scientific abilities do any good against the dark mysticism of their unliving foes?
Kasuga has realized she's in love with Nomoto--and the two grow closer than ever! With Valentine's Day approaching, Nomoto bakes up a storm and Kasuga hits the shops as they prepare the perfect treats to give each other.
Master spy Twilight is unparalleled when it comes to going undercover on dangerous missions for the betterment of the world. But when he receives the ultimate assignment--to get married and have a kid--he may finally be in over his head!
Humans and hybrid Arcanics are at war once again, but battles of the heart and soul are the most dangerous of all.
Monster Association big shots are taking out S-class heroes one after another...That is, until the strongest man alive, King, rises to confront this crisis. Though the monsters are seething with malice, King appears cool and composed. Can his cool act defuse the dire situation?
Yuki and Itsuomi have moved in together, and the part of Itsuomi's life that he's been keeping secret has come literally crashing into their relationship! A neighbor collapses, and the two step in to help, and discover that he is the brother of Itsuomi's backpacker friend Tasuku.
When things take a turn for the worse and a seed of doubt about the new headmistress is planted, Zuko takes action by installing one of the people he trusts most, Mai, as an academy teacher.
The battle on Punk Hazard heats up as Luffy faces off against the diabolical Caesar Clown. Meanwhile, can the rest of the Straw Hat crew escape the deadly gas that is spreading all over the island?
The Fantastic Four meet the Jurassic Four! When our FF swap places with a set of bizarre alternate-reality counterparts, they find themselves battling for survival...in a world where everyone is a dinosaur
When Hody puts his diabolical plan into action, only Luffy can stop him. Luffy may have become much more powerful thanks to his training, but how can he hope to defeat a Fish-Man at the bottom of the ocean?
When Kyoko's heart is broken, she decides that revenge is a dish best served in the spotlight! Kyoko Mogami followed her true love Sho to Tokyo to support him while he made it big. But he's casting her out now that he's famous enough! Kyoko won't suffer in silence--she's going to get her sweet revenge
With the epic Paramount War now over, the scene shifts back to when a young Luffy first met Ace. Luffy, Ace and their friend Sabo get into all types of trouble as they grow up in a tumultuous time. Then, back in the present, Luffy will need to find the strength to recover from the loss of his brother.
Authentic or forged? Follow the journey of a painting that may (or may not) be the work of Paul Gauguin as it travels around the world over the course of a century. Explore the networks and relationships that help determine authenticity in the art world.
The book features an inclusive engagement with recent developments in form theory, schema theory, and other related studies since 2006, including some of the language and insights of cognitive research into music perception and the more generalized concerns of conceptual metaphor theory.
The Architecture of Urbanity eloquently explains why cities are the last, best hope for humanity, and why designers must, alongside political, business, community, and cultural leaders, steward the healing of our planet.
Drawing Nature presents the creative process of an acclaimed nature artist, guiding readers from field sketches to finished art and demonstrating how science and the close observation of nature can be integrated into the artist's work to create dynamic, meaningful images.
The first study of the solfeggio tradition, which was fundamental to the training of European musicians, c. 1680-1830. It addresses one of the last major gaps in historical research on 18th-century performance and pedagogy.
Documenta un fenómeno clave de la cultura contemporánea: el colapso de la industria musical tal como la conocíamos y el surgimiento de la cultura digital, la piratería y los archivos de audio MP3 como vehículo para el nuevo consumo de música.
Written by two experts in public affairs and nonprofit leadership with deep experience in teaching and fiscal management, this book provides guidance that will be immediately applicable to arts leaders' work, helping them continue to excel in their creative endeavors and thrive.
An intimate and captivating exploration of Lin-Manuel Miranda's artistic journey, revealing how the creator of the Broadway musicals Hamilton and In the Heights found his unique voice through bold collaborations, redefining the world of musical theater.
Este libro no pretende enseñarte a crear, sino a desaprender y liberarte de todo aquello que te impide crear libremente un arte profundo, sanador y que te permita ser fiel a ti mismo/a. No necesitas saberlo todo para disfrutar de una vida plena, satisfactoria y alegre.
Puerto Rican artists are central figures in contemporary American and international art worlds, yet have gone unrecognized and been excluded from art history canons. This book provides a critical survey of Puerto Rican art production in the United States from the 1960s to the present.
La Cátedra de Estética Musical deberá estar siempre ampliamente ilustrada con la reproducción de obras musicales de todos los períodos y de todos los países, pero con un énfasis fundamental en la excelencia de las obras contemporáneas.
Places contemporary prints and practices in the context of traditions and techniques developed over more than a thousand years. Clear, engaging explanations cover the seven major printmaking processes: relief, intaglio, lithography, monotype, screenprint, photogravure, and chine collé.
Exposing the depths of the fraud problem, Henricksen gives readers a way forward. Proposing we call these massive deceit campaigns by their proper name; we "de-weaponize" the First Amendment, which was never meant to shield swindlers; and we enact new laws that protect the public.
Students create community with each other, understanding their individual experiences of illegality are part of a larger structure of legal violence. This type of education empowers students to make their way to and through college, change their communities, and ultimately assert their humanity.
Examination of the Syrian armed opposition, tracing the emergence of Jihadi groups in the conflict, their growing dominance, and their political transformation. Drevon's research provides a unique perspective on insurgent groups in armed conflicts based on extensive interviews with Jihadis
Salvaging a Teenage Wasteland provides the first major historical account of the recovery high school movement from its beginnings in the alternative schools of the 1970s that overlapped with the first adolescent substance use treatment programs.
Pressure has grown so severe that the average tenure of university presidents has fallen to less than six years. American universities provide the solutions to the ignorance and division that plague our society, but only if wise, courageous leaders step up.
Weingarten encourages teachers to continue focusing on their vital mission to help young people thrive - creating opportunity in safe and welcoming classrooms, promoting tolerance, and teaching problem solving, critical thinking, and healthy debate.
Draws on hundreds of in-depth interviews with physicians, pharmacists, and enforcement agents across the United States to take readers to the frontlines of the opioid crisis, where medical providers must make difficult choices between treating and punishing the people in their care.
The Kent State shootings were both unavoidable and preventable: unavoidable in that all the discordant forces of a turbulent decade flowed together on May 4, 1970, on one Ohio campus; preventable in that all parties to the tragedy made the wrong choices at the wrong time in the wrong place.
Firebrands is the story of four Jazz Age dynamos - all women - who were forces behind the passage of Prohibition. In Firebrands, Diliberto finally gives these figures their due, creating a varied and dramatic portrait of women wielding power, in politics, society, and popular culture.
Societal realities - poverty, racism, and social marginalization - result in depleted cognitive resources for students and for those who are trying to help them succeed. We all have a stake in a public school system where students emerge fully-formed learners and thinkers and believe in their abilities.
Weaving together his personal experiences and sociological observations, Yamane illuminates defensive gun ownership, the risk of negative outcomes associated with firearms, and what responsible gun ownership looks like in the twenty-first century.
The Evolution of Consciousness brings together interdisciplinary insights from philosophy, neuroscience, psychology and cognitive science to explain consciousness in terms of the biological function that grounds it in the physical world.
Using step-by-step, illustrated instructions, this hand-sewing course-in-a-book shows you how to create nine wardrobe staples, including a t-shirt, button-up, and jeans, using simple hand-sewing and hand-stitching techniques. garment without using a sewing machine.
Traces Army media management from its origins as an ad hoc task to its professionalization and formalization, alongside the Army's rise as a political force, its precipitous fall in the Vietnam War era, and its renewed ascent.
Nuevas entrevistas exclusivas con expertos militares y civiles que han construido las armas, han estado al tanto de los planes de respuesta y han sido responsables de las decisiones si fue necesario tomarlas; el libro examina los pocos minutos posteriores al lanzamiento de un misil nuclear.
Covers the spy rings of the American revolution to the formation of the first federal espionage agencies in the twentieth century, to the development of modern concepts of intelligence through various NSA controversies and the debate over domestic and international whistleblowers.
Strategies and easy-to-master zero waste techniques to help you develop your own cutting-edge fashion designs. Includes new content on integrating 3D design into a zero waste process, coverage of the historical context of zero waste around the world, and related technique of subtraction cutting.
Algorithms of Armageddon provides a time-critical understanding of why AI is being implemented through state weaponization, the realities for the global power balance, and more importantly, U.S. national security.
Discover 35 patterns for gorgeous clothes and accessories to make with just yarn and a crochet hook in no time at all. The designs offer a range of contemporary garments and accessories to make on the move - from hats and gloves to children's clothes; from bags and pillows to blankets and a tablecloth.
Lessons in Foodservice Management uses detailed case studies across diverse settings to illustrate key topics. The book aims to connect theory to practice and offers an engaging and human-centered approach to foodservice management.
Historia secreta de la bomba atómica revela vívidamente la historia de la construcción innecesaria de la bomba atómica, el arma más destructiva del mundo, y las consecuencias a largo plazo que aún persisten hasta el día de hoy.
¡Los sabores japoneses infunden y transforman tus postres favoritos y crean nuevos placeres que puedes preparar fácilmente en casa! Incluye ingredientes y recetas de fácil acceso que se adaptan teniendo en cuenta al panadero occidental y al cocinero casero.
Dress-making and fashion technology has changed beyond recognition: from needles and human hands in the ancient world to complex 20th-century textile production machines. New technologies such as the electronic media and high-tech manufacturing have helped not just to produce but to define fashion:
Paisajes, colores, textiles y fragancias nos transportan desde Getaria, la ciudad natal de Balenciaga, hasta las elegantes avenidas parisinas de la época dorada de la alta costura, para descubrir el enigma que es Balenciaga.
Humans have always been fascinated by the possibility of extraterrestrial life, often wondering if we are alone in the universe. Drawing on nearly fifty years as a leader in planetary exploration, Louis Friedman brings into focus the subject of extraterrestrial life, separating knowledge from conjecture, fact from fiction, to draw scientific and technical conclusions that answer this enduring question.
What if science-fiction may actually be science-fact? Fearless readers, embark on a journey to discover the Theory of General Relativity, quantum chemistry, multiverse theory (both parallel and bubble varieties), and more, while fully immersed in the most popular cinematic universes of our time.
Humanity faces tougher challenges than ever. Whether it's the health of our people or the health of our planet, we know we are on an unsustainable path. Efforts to tackle these existential crises are being threatened by politically and ideologically motivated opposition to science.
Rapid development of artificial intelligence brings new risks and possibilities. Berners-Lee offers a crucial guide to the decisions ahead - and shows how our digital lives can be reengineered for the sake of human flourishing rather than profit or for power.
Turner unpacks the history of batteries to explore why solving "the battery problem" is critical to a clean energy transition. Focusing on what a clean energy future will create - sustainability, resiliency, and climate justice, he draws on the past for crucial lessons to help us build a just and clean energy future.
Frank Close takes us on a journey into the quantum subatomic world of particles. He describes the strong and weak forces that operate alongside electromagnetism, the color and flavor charges, as well as the parallels between them, giving hints of a deeper unity.
Educational research designs are presented from qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods traditions that investigate student and teacher engagement with science and engineering practices through self-regulated learning.
Stone's aim is to understand how climate change is altering our lives in the present period - this period of transition between the ancient, stable climate of our ancestors and the unfolding, no longer stable climate of our children - and how our cities might adapt to these changes.
Drawing on long-term, multi-sited ethnographic fieldwork, this book is a one-stop resource for policy makers, practitioners, scholars, and anyone interested in just solar energy transitions.
A quick reference to the many different concepts and ideas encountered in chemistry. It presents important subjects in a concise format that makes it a practical resource for any reader. Subjects include general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and spectral analysis.
A broad spectrum of chapters on branches of chemical and biological engineering, demonstrating key developments in the rapidly changing fields. Chapters explore design, development, operation, monitoring, control and optimization of chemical, physical and biological processes.
Covers how various thinkers sought to solve the puzzle of sunspots, shedding new light on key discoveries and the people who made them, as well as their historical and cultural contexts. Fast-paced, comprehensive, and learned, The Clock in the Sun shows readers our closest star from many new angles.
A richly illustrated introduction to the spectacular reptiles that swam the oceans when dinosaurs roamed the land. During the Mesozoic era, 252 to 66 million years ago, dinosaurs ruled the land, but the ocean deeps were roiling with equally spectacular reptiles - including giant predators.
A través de cataclismos ardientes y eras de hielo; mamíferos: tigres dientes de sable, mamuts lanudos, armadillos del tamaño de un automóvil, osos de las cavernas tres veces el peso de un oso pardo, inteligentes corredores que sobrevivieron al Tyrannosaurus rex y otros humanos, como los neandertales.
Why did white pine help spark the American Revolution? How did balsam aid the development of germ theory? What does hemlock have to do with making leather? Conifers of the New England Acadian Forest explores how conifers influenced the course of human history.
Dedicated to 23 unusual and underappreciated creatures, a clarion call for us to look at the world around us with new eyes. See the magic of the animals we live among, their unknown histories and capabilities, and above all, how lucky we are to tread the same ground as such treasures.
The body, behavior, and genes of every living creature can be read as a book - an archive of the worlds of its ancestors. A future zoologist with an unknown animal will be able to decode its ancestral history, to read its unique “book of the dead.”
The fascinating story of a particularly prized species, the matsutake, and the astonishing ways it is silently yet powerfully shaping worlds - from the Tibetan plateau to the mushrooms' final destination in Japan - and providing new ways to understand human and more-than-human worlds.
Throughout the book, it examines how climate change may alter what microbes are doing with greenhouse gases: will they consume more or produce more? The answer is critical in predicting what the planet will look like in the coming decades if climate change continues at its current pace.
On Life aims to make life intelligible by giving an understanding of the biological landscape. It sketches the principles as biologists presently understand them and highlights major unresolved issues. What emerges is a biology bracketed by two stubborn mysteries: the nature of the mind and the origin of life.
Huw Richards se propuso el reto de ser autosuficiente cultivando sus propias frutas y verduras gratis durante un año. Lo logró y quiere ayudarte a conseguirlo. Descubre estrategias para cultivar tus propios alimentos en tu huerto, parcela o maceta y disfruta de una cosecha abundante todo el año.
Along with inspiring stories of revival and lessons from failed projects, readers will find practical tips to get involved. They will also be reminded of the magic of pollinators - not only the iconic monarch and dainty hummingbird, but the drab hawk moth and homely bats that are just as essential.
Consejos de cuidado esenciales para mantener sus plantas vivas y prósperas, consejos de propagación para ayudarlo a hacer crecer su colección y 24 proyectos paso a paso diseñados para aprovechar al máximo su vegetación: todo lo que necesita para crear, cultivar y cuidar su jardín interior.
A visually stunning journey into the diversity and wonders of forests. Compelling, abridged selections from the original book and stunning, large-format photographs of trees from around the world, this gorgeous volume distills the essence of Wohlleben's message to show trees in all their glory and diversity.
