Research Guides: Archaeology and Anthropology: Databases and Articles

Best Databases for Archaeology and Anthropology Research

If you are studying Archaeology and Anthropology, the most appropriate databases for your needs are listed below (though you can still use the search tool on the library's homepage to search every database simultaneously and then narrow results by using the subject filter on the left side of the results screen).

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary streaming video subscription for libraries. Titles span a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Videos can be embedded in Brightspace and users can create free accounts to curate video titles and share them with other MCC users.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank has 500,000 in-depth and original profiles including full-text articles, images, and abstracts from established magazines and journals.
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic Edition provides full-text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Britannica Academic includes additional relevant content, including websites, a world atlas, photos, articles, and news feeds.
Eighteenth Century Collections 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
The Eighteenth Century Collections offer full text access to a large collection of items relevant to historical primary source research, including books, pamphlet, essays, and broadsides of works published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. The works are primarily in English, although some are in other languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of archived and current issues of academic, peer-reviewed journals. The MCC Library subscribes to 9 multidisciplinary arts and sciences collections and a life sciences journal collection.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images of numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides indexing and full-text articles from journals typically indexed in PscyINFO. The collection is suitable for research on many topics in psychology and psychiatry, including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, counseling, and child psychology.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.