Research Guides: Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) Research Guide: Research Databases

MCC Library Search (homepage feature) or Individual Databases?

You can begin the majority of your research with our primary search tool from the library homepage, but you will also want to familiarize yourself with specific health, medicine, and nursing research databases from the MCC Library. Please read the descriptions below the database titles to determine the best database for your research needs. CINAHL Complete is one of the most common research databases in the health sciences.

Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations.
Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Content comes from 7 different ProQuest health and medical databases. This database is recommended for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even patients and their families.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health is intended for health care researchers and students, with full-text titles made available that are cited in CINAHL.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is a database that provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, reference books, pamphlets, and recordings of live medical procedures and surgeries. The database is intended for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals and covers a complete range of health care topics.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Journals@Ovid provides online full-text access to 18 eJournals provided by the McLennan Community College Library. At the database screen, select Journals to select a specific title.

Evidence-Based Resources (outside of MCC Library)

WIth these searchable resources, you will likely find some full text available from publishers, but for others, you will need to search for the article title at our library search system to determine if we have access to the full-text among our databases. You should never have to pay for an article!

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is an important and key database for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements. Use the search bar at the top right, you will also see tabs for other Cochrane search results, because not all topics are yet covered by systematic reviews.
TRIP Medical Database
Trip is a clinical metasearch engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. You can search using keywords, PICO, or do an advanced search.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM's legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC is part of the NLM collection, which also includes NLM's extensive print and licensed electronic journal holdings and supports contemporary biomedical and health care research and practice as well as future scholarship.

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
Click Settings and then Library links
Type MCC Library and hit enter
Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
Click Save
Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

google scholar