Search for Books and Articles - RSPT 2233 (Respiratory Care Case Management) - Prof. D. Mendoza - Research Guides at McLennan Community College

Assignment Instructions

Students of RSPT_2233 Respiratory Care Case Management will search for peer reviewed articles and information from medical textbooks to present information on a respiratory related disease case to their class.

Information about respiratory diseases will include Pathophysiology, Pharmacology, Diagnostic Testing, Treatment, and Current Trends.
The articles and medical textbook information must come from works published within the last 5 years.

Health Sciences Research Databases

In addition to searching for scholarly and book content using the MCC Library's Main Search from the homepage, you can target your search in the health sciences databases listed below:

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.
Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Content comes from 7 different ProQuest health and medical databases. This database is recommended for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even patients and their families.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is a database that provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, reference books, pamphlets, and recordings of live medical procedures and surgeries. The database is intended for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals and covers a complete range of health care topics.

Journals from the MCC Library

This list is not comprehensive but highlights respiratory care related peer reviewed journal titles that you might see in some of your search results. You can click the "Journals" tab on the library's main search and look for full-text access to any of these listed journal titles.

American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine
BMJ Open Respiratory Research
BMC Pulmonary Medicine
Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy
CHEST Critical Care
Clinical Medicine Insights. Circulatory, Respiratory and Pulmonary Medicine
Influenza and Other Respiratory Viruses
Journal of Association of Chest Physicians
Multidisciplinary Respiratory Medicine
New England Journal of Medicine
Respiration
Respiratory Medicine
Therapeutic advances in pulmonary and critical care medicine Thorax

eBooks

The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Deirdre S. Hiam
Publication Date: 2022
This link goes to a database, Gale Health and Wellness, and the publication record for this title. On the right of the page, you can search within the title.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
This link goes to a database, Gale Health and Wellness, and the publication record for this title. On the right of the page, you can search within the title.
Infectious Diseases and Conditions by H. Bradford Hawley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Magill's Medical Guide by Salem Press
Publication Date: 2022
Respiratory Care by Neil R. MacIntyre; William F. Galvin; Dean R. Hess
Publication Date: 2020
Mount Sinai Expert Guides by Stephan A. Mayer (Editor); Janet M. Shapiro (Editor); Umesh K. Gidwani (Editor); John M. Oropello (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
Click Settings and then Library links
Type MCC Library and hit enter
Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
Click Save
Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

google scholar