Searching for trustworthy and scholarly information in the health sciences areas is best undertaken in specific databases. Our main search tool on the library homepage can facilitate searching for background information as you develop your topic, but you will want to select from the list below for the majority of your searching. Please request help from the librarian listed on the Welcome page of this guide if you have questions about selecting the correct database or read the descriptions provided and try a few searches.
CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Content comes from 7 different ProQuest health and medical databases. This database is recommended for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even patients and their families.
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
ICE Video Library is aimed at clinical educators in occupational and physical therapy, providing in-class or online video instruction, consisting of streaming video collections that feature real patients and therapists. The short video clips illustrate a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings. Instructions: Enter your MCC email address (@mclennan.edu or @students.mclennan.edu) to access the system, and optionally check the "Remember me" box to simplify future logins.
You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....
Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.
