Research Guides: Music : Databases/Articles

Databases and Articles

These databases contain articles about music plus biographies on musical composers and artists.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
Grove Music Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is intended for background and in-depth research in music, musicians, music-making, and the history of music. Resources include The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2nd ed.), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2nd ed.), The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Note: This database has a limited license of 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is a interface which allows users to search Grove and other Oxford reference content in one location.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of archived and current issues of academic, peer-reviewed journals. The MCC Library subscribes to 9 multidisciplinary arts and sciences collections and a life sciences journal collection.

Streaming Music

Music from Academic Video Online
Nearly 40,000 videos on all things music from AVON
Music from Films on Demand
Over 36,000 music videos featuring music of all kinds.

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
Click Settings and then Library links
Type MCC Library and hit enter
Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
Click Save
Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it. For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

google scholar