CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides differing views on current issues, controversial issues, and topics requiring a diversity of viewpoints supporting science, social studies, current events, and language arts research through viewpoint essays, topic overviews, court case overviews, periodical articles, reference book entries, and news radio transcripts.
Gale in Context: Science is a database that searches for resources in most science subject areas, providing a view of topics in context with society, history, innovation, globalism, ethics, future trends, and more. The content provided includes reference sources, magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
This Newsbank collection provides cover to cover full text and some image editions of major Texas newspapers, including the Waco-Tribune Herald, Houston Chronicle, Dallas Morning News, Austin American-Statesman, and Fort Worth Star-Telegram.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the full-text of current and extensive backfiles of U.S. newspapers, news services, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
If you need to show evidence from contrasting and many points of view within an argumentative or informative paper, keep in mind:
1. Do not expect to find one article that covers all viewpoints. The point of your research is to synthesize information from many sources that address the contrasting sides or various aspects.
2. Do not use the words "pro" or "con" in your search. Consider some of the viewpoint terms listed below:
Neutral terms: argument, case, controversy, debate, effect, impact, issue, legislation, opinion, policy, proposal, propose, solution, viewpoint.
Pro terms: advantages, advocate, agree, benefits, in favor, proponent, strengths, support, sympathize.
Con terms: antagonist, consequences, disadvantages, disagree, drawback, limitations, problems, risks, shortcoming.
3. Search for words and phrases that address what you expect to be the different viewpoints or aspects of your topic. For instance, if researching the future of Social Security, you might use "social security" and reform, "social security" and shortfall, or increase and "retired population" and "social security."
4. Do not type your entire research question into the search. For example, "Should the United States government continue to provide Social Security as a retirement option?" Instead, turn your question into keywords and phrases - "united states" and debate and "social security" and future.
