Research Guides: Health Sciences: Research Databases

Health Sciences Databases

Searching for trustworthy and scholarly information in the health sciences areas is best undertaken in specific databases. Our main search tool on the library homepage can facilitate searching for background information as you develop your topic, but you will want to select from the list below for the majority of your searching. Please request help from the librarian listed on the Welcome page of this guide if you have questions about selecting the correct database or read the descriptions provided and try a few searches.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.
Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Content comes from 7 different ProQuest health and medical databases. This database is recommended for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even patients and their families.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is a US National Library of Medicine database providing citations and abstracts for biomedial and health journals sutiable for healthcare professionals and student researchers. This index is not full-text (citations only), but when availalble, will link to the library's catalog, electronic book databases, full text articles from Ebsco and other vendors, and PubMed free full text on the internet.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is a database that provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, reference books, pamphlets, and recordings of live medical procedures and surgeries. The database is intended for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals and covers a complete range of health care topics.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Journals@Ovid provides online full-text access to 18 eJournals provided by the McLennan Community College Library. At the database screen, select Journals to select a specific title.
R2 Digital Library (Nursing and Allied Health, Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
R2 Digital Library provides access to a collection of eBook titles related to nursing and allied health fields.
International Clinical Educators (ICE) Video Library This link opens in a new window
ICE Video Library is aimed at clinical educators in occupational and physical therapy, providing in-class or online video instruction, consisting of streaming video collections that feature real patients and therapists. The short video clips illustrate a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
JAMAevidence includes three textbooks: Users' Guides to the Medical Literature : a Manual for Evidence-based Clinical Practice, 2nd edition, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience. This database also includes education guides, glossary, calculators, learning tools, custom curriculum, audio content, and a library of slide sets covering EBM concepts.