Rachel Kramer
Research Librarian
she/her/hers
MCC Learning Commons
rkramer@mclennan.edu
254-299-8390
"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. Multiple database companies may collectthe same item, which then appears in each database.
Database companies charge a fee for access to their databases. Don't worry, MCC Library Services pays this fee for MCC students, faculty, and staff (with the exception of continuing education students).
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Gale Power Search enables cross-searching of all Gale databases available to the MCC Library. Click "Select all" to deselect all databases and then click on the individual database to add them to the cross-search.
JSTOR is a digital library of archived and current issues of academic, peer-reviewed journals. The MCC Library subscribes to 9 multidisciplinary arts and sciences collections and a life sciences journal collection.
This link provides access to an advanced search of all ProQuest platform databases. To select specific ProQuest resources, click on "Change Databases."
An easy-to-use online resource that provides multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audio book readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans, and more, for over 40,000 children’s and young adult books in English and Spanish.
Use these databases if you are working on lesson plans and need age-appropriate reading materials or research databases.
An easy-to-use online resource that provides multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audio book readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans, and more, for over 40,000 children’s and young adult books in English and Spanish.
