Research Guides: Information Technology & Computing: Books and eBooks

Ebooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central from ProQuest provides access to a large collection of electronic books covering a wide range of subjects, including Business, Education, Engineering and Technology, Medicine, and the Humanities. eBooks can be read online; chapters can be printed, emailed or downloaded; and downloaded eBooks can be read offline for two weeks. All eBooks are searchable from the Library Search Tool.
eBook Collection (eBooks on EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's eBook Collection provides searchable, full-text of eBooks, including many in Spanish. eBooks can be read online; chapters can be printed, emailed or downloaded; and downloaded eBooks can be read offline for two weeks. All eBooks are searchable from the Library Search Tool.

You can search for eBooks in Discovery Search by filtering in the left margin of the search results page. Choose "Filter by Source" and eBooks after conducting a search.

Ebook Tutorials

Using the Library Catalog for finding books on Technology

The MCC Library Book Search helps you find hard copy and ebooks on academic topics. Here are three methods for using the Book Search with technology topic search examples:

1. General Keyword: This searches for your typed words or phrases in all parts of the books' descriptions (book title, table of contents, subject headings, author, publisher, etc). Be specific in your search; otherwise you will get unrelated results.

Example: innovations technology education

yields these titles or subjects

Intructional technology in early childhood
Abundance: the future is better than you think
Social media for school leaders

Early childhood education - Computer-assisted instruction
Educational technology - United States
Technological innovations - Forecasting
Education technology - Social aspects

2. Subject Keyword: This searches for your typed words or phrases in the subject headings of the books' descriptions.

Example: technology AND education

yields books with these subjects

Educational Technology
Education -- Effect of technological innovations on ...

3. Subject - Aphabetical: This allows you to browse the standard subject heading list starting with the word you enter in your search. This allows you to find subjects with subheadings that might be more relevant to your topic.

Example: nanotechnology

yields these subjects

Nanotechnology
Nanotechnology - Asia ...
Nanotechnology - Data processing
Nanotechnology - Environmental Aspects ...