Research Guides: Alternative Teacher Certification: Databases and Articles

Test Preparation Database

Learning Express Library Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning Express Library is a database that contains tutorials, practice tests, ebooks, and video courses to help users improve core academic skills, pass the GED, prepare for college entrance exams, join the military, study for occupational certifications, navigate the job search process, and much more.

To use Learning Express Library, you must first visit the database and then create an account within it. As a bonus, your account will allow you to track your progress within the database's offerings.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, is an index of education-related journal articles and materials from scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education, and other governmental agencies. This link connects to the database on the Ebscohost platform.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use online resource that provides multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audio book readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans, and more, for over 40,000 children’s and young adult books in English and Spanish.

Explora for Elementary and Primary Students This link opens in a new window
Explora for Elementary and Primary Students offers a search interface that is easy for K-5 students to use when looking for articles, books, and encyclopedias on a variety of topics, including animals, art, music, geography, language arts, math, science, and social studies. The database is relevant to students enrolled in MCC's Alternative Teacher Certification Program, students taking Child Development courses, and students or community members with school-age children.
Explora for High School This link opens in a new window
Explora for High School is an easy-to-use search interface for students in grades 6-12 looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books, informational texts, primary sources, multimedia, and more on a variety of curriculum-related topics. The MCC Library lists this resource for students in the Alternative Teacher Certification program, its relevance to community members visiting the library, and its relevance to MCC students with school-age children.