Rachel Kramer
Research Librarian
she/her/hers
MCC Learning Commons
rkramer@mclennan.edu
254-299-8390
"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. Multiple database companies may collect the same item, which then appears in each database.
Database companies charge a fee for access to their databases. Don't worry, MCC Library Services pays this fee for MCC students, faculty, and staff (with the exception of continuing education students).
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Gale Academic OneFile is a multidisciplinary database for locating scholary journals and periodicals. In addition, the collection provides access to authoritative podcasts, audio transcripts, and videos from NPR, CNN, and BBC Worldwide Learning.
Gale Books and Authors is a book recommendation resource for readers of all ages, with information about fiction and non-fiction pulled from book lists dating back to the early 1900s.
Gale Literature is a multisearch interface bringing together 7 of the top literature databases from Gale, including Gale Literature Resource Center and Gale Literature Criticism.
Gale Literature Resource Center provides access to author biographical information, work overviews, full-text literary criticism, and authoritative reviews on more than 130,000 published novelists in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography is the Modern Language Associations definitive index for researching language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, composition, folklore, and film. Article citations are from journals, books, articles reprinted in book, series, and dissertations. This index is not full-text (citations only), but will link to the library's catalog, electronic book databases, and full text articles from Ebsco and other vendors, if available.
