VTHT 1245 & 2205 (Veterinary Radiology & Equine Clinical Management) - Prof. L. Shrawder

"What the heck is a database?"

A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. They then charge an access fee to organizations or individuals who wish to access the information stored in their databases.

MCC Library Services pays that access fee for faculty, staff, and most students (with the exception of continuing-education students.) In fact, we provide you with access to 162 databases. View the Databases A-Z list to see a description of every database we provide.

You can use Google Scholar to locate peer-reviewed articles, then link to get the full-text from our MCC library databases, if the full-text is not available freely on the internet.

1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
3. Click Settings and then Library links
4. Type MCC Library and hit enter
5. Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to McLennan Community College Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
6. Click Save
7. Enter your article search
8. Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it.  For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.

Use the content on this page to help you locate and refine your topic, strategize for effective searching, and locate tutorials on searching the library's research databases.

  Use a basic research database, the library's search tool, and the internet to help you find sources for your research papers.

The video below will teach you the basics of using the MCC Library's search engine (which is located on the library's homepage). It includes information on:

• search basics
• signing in
• the item-preview page
• accessing items
• accessing more information about an item
• narrowing your search results
  • Hint: You will need to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles
  • Hint: You will need to limit your results by age (no more than 5 years old, but preferably no more than 3 years old)

The video below will teach you to use the cite, share, and save button's on the item-preview screen.

The video below will teach you to find more information about a search result by accessing its record page.