Mental Health

Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of videos and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology, and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.

CINAHL Complete provides full-text and citations for nursing and health-related journals covering 1982 to the present. The content covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, the CINAHL Database allows users to conduct a targeted advanced search for evidence-based material.

CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.

The MCC Library has access to several DSM titles from the Psychiatry Online platform, including the DSM-5®, DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5® Clinical Cases, Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5®, and DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview. The Library does not have access to the archived collection in DSM Legacy.

Gale Health and Wellness provides reliable health and wellness information for the general population and for students research basic health information. The database includes information from medical journals, magazines, reference sources, and multimedia.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides differing views on current issues, controversial issues, and topics requiring a diversity of viewpoints supporting science, social studies, current events, and language arts research through viewpoint essays, topic overviews, court case overviews, periodical articles, reference book entries, and news radio transcripts.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is a database that provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, reference books, pamphlets, and recordings of live medical procedures and surgeries. The database is intended for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals and covers a complete range of health care topics.

Gale's OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. The resource is suitable for college students, researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists.

Gale Power Search enables cross-searching of all Gale databases available to the MCC Library. Click "Select all" to deselect all databases and then click on the individual database to add them to the cross-search.

Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Content comes from 7 different ProQuest health and medical databases. This database is recommended for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even patients and their families.

PsychiatryOnline provides a collection of full text resources from the American Psychiatric Association, including the DSM Library, 5 peer-reviewed journals, professional news, and specialized reference books. In addition, access to the site includes professional guidelines, patient education tools, and professional podcasts. The DSM Library includes DSM-5, the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases, the Spanish Edition, and the Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview.

ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.