Research Guides: Business: Databases

Overview

MCC Library Services offers a number of business-specific databases. You can search for academic articles, news articles, and more! We have gathered a list of the most pertinent resources on this page.

Business Databases

These databases are a great place to start your research for you business and accounting questions. These databases contain many different types of information including company reports, scholarly articles, and trade journals.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a great place to start any research question with over 9,000 full-text journals you can search.

More Resources!

Other great business resources include WestLaw Next and CQ Researcher.

In WestlawNext select the "News" link on the first page. Here you have access to:

Business Law Currents
Reuters U.S. Business News
Reuters U.S. Investing News
Business news topic page

In CQ Researcher. Simply click on "Browse topics" at the top of the screen and select "Business and Economics."

Here are links to these resources:

CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides full-text access to legal encyclopedias and law reviews, cases, federal administrative materials, statutes and legislative materials, federal and state constitutions, and European Union library of legal materials.

Business Management Journals

If you want to dig into our online business management journals, try these links!

Accounting
Banks and Banking
The banking sector of the economy can be viewed bottom-up or top-down. The top-down view shows central banks overseeing financial activities for the entire nation. Beneath them full-service national commercial banks conduct business. At the bottom of the system are small full-service community banks and specialized savings and loan institutions. Other specialized institutions, some regional, some local, fill in the fabric of banking. These include trusts and credit unions. Of greatest interest to the small business is the local community bank or the local branch of a national commercial bank.
Business and Economics
The Business and Economics Journal focuses on a wide range of topics in the field of Financial Planning, Economics, Micro and Macroeconomic policies, Banking research, Accounting, Balance of payments, Trade Policies, Direct Foreign Investment (FDI) , Foreign Exchange, Stock Market, Investment Banking, Venture Capital, Taxation & Budgeting, Fiscal and Monitory policies, Management Information System (MIS), Business Ethics, Customer satisfaction, Marketing, and wealth management.
Finance
Finance is a term for matters regarding the management, creation, and study of money and investments.
Industrial Production
Industrial production refers to the output of industrial establishments and covers sectors such as mining, manufacturing, electricity, gas and steam, and air-conditioning. This indicator is measured in an index based on a reference period that expresses change in the volume of production output.
Management Theory
Management theories are concepts surrounding recommended management strategies, which may include tools such as frameworks and guidelines that can be implemented in modern organizations.
Marketing
Real Estate

Search Newspapers and Magazines

These national and international newspapers and magazines databases have exceptional coverage of business, economic, and political issues and can be an excellent place to get good background information a topic.

America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
Over 30 national magazine and newspapers which focus on business, political, and science and technology.
NewsBank America's News: Texas This link opens in a new window
Full-text over 70 local Texas newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text over 350 national and international newspapers. Users can also search television and radio transcripts from CBS, CNN, Fox News, and NPR.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search over 1,300 full-text national and international newspapers including:
The New York Times
Wall Street Journals
Washington Post
The Guardian
Toronto Star