Research Guides: Agriculture: Databases/Articles

Overview

McLennan offers a number of databases that include articles about Agriculture. You can search for academic articles, news articles, and more! Here are two lists of our most pertinent resources for you.

Agricultural Databases

These databases cover different topics related to agriculture including: animal science, forestry, plant sciences, human health and nutrition, and environmental sciences.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large, broad topic database which is an excellent place to start research. Academic Search Complete has over 9,000 different journals to search
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides research from scholarly, governmental and general interest sources on environmental issues and efforts to minimize negative impacts within a variety of disciplines, including agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. The database includes such topics as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition provides online full text access back to 1995 for over 1000 journal titles in the Health and Life Sciences subject areas.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Search Newspapers and Magazines

These national and international newspapers and magazines databases have exceptional coverage of business, economic, and political issues and their relation to agricultural issues. They are an excellent place to get good background information a topic.

America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
This Newsbank collection provides current full-text access to a small collection of popular news magazines, including The Atlantic and Newsweek, as well as backfiles of other U.S. magazines, including Commentary, Parenting, New Yorker, and Vanity Fair.
NewsBank America's News: Texas This link opens in a new window
This Newsbank collection provides cover to cover full text and some image editions of major Texas newspapers, including the Waco-Tribune Herald, Houston Chronicle, Dallas Morning News, Austin American-Statesman, and Fort Worth Star-Telegram.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text over 350 national and international newspapers. Users can also search television and radio transcripts from CBS, CNN, Fox News, and NPR.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the full-text of current and extensive backfiles of U.S. newspapers, news services, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.