Paralegal

This Library of Congress research guide provides users with resources related to the Declaration of Independence.

"The Articles of Confederation were adopted by the Continental Congress on November 15, 1777. This document served as the United States' first constitution."

This Library of Congress research guide provides users with resources related to the U.S. Constitution.

This Library of Congress research guide provides users with resources related to the Bill of Rights.

"Constitutional Amendments 1-10 make up what is known as The Bill of Rights. Amendments 11-27 are listed here."

"The Federalist Papers [are] a series of 85 essays written by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison between October 1787 and May 1788. In lobbying for adoption of the Constitution over the existing Articles of Confederation, the essays explain particular provisions of the Constitution in detail. For this reason, and because Hamilton and Madison were each members of the Constitutional Convention, the Federalist Papers are often used today to help interpret the intentions of those drafting the Constitution."

This Legal Information Institute site, through Cornell Law School, provides access to historic U.S. Supreme Court decisions, organized by topic.

The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.

This Library of Congress research guide provides information on the history or the judiciary, the federal court system and court opinions and decisions.

The purpose of this site is to provide information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

"The Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) was enacted by Congress in 2000 to address concerns about children's access to obscene or harmful content over the Internet."

A link to Copyright.gov and its publication on U.S. Copyright Law, which contains the text of Title 17 of the United States Code, including all amendments enacted by Congress.

This page explains federal law's relevance to bullying.

"The FTC’s Telemarketing Sales Rule helps protect consumers from fraudulent telemarketing calls and gives them certain protections under the National Do Not Call Registry."

This site "includes an extensive database of federal cases."

Summary of the major laws of the Department of Labor

"Beginning in 1824, what we now know as Texas passed through many iterations. Between 1824 and 1876, Texas was at times a part of the United States of Mexico, an independent republic, a [self-proclaimed] state within the Confederate States of America, and a state within the United States of America." View all of the related documents at the linked site.

When Texas attempted to secede from the United States, it issued a declaration of its decision and included slavery among its motivations, proclaiming that its decision was "based upon the unnatural feeling of hostility to these Southern States and their beneficent and patriarchal system of African slavery, proclaiming the debasing doctrine of equality of all men, irrespective of race or color—a doctrine at war with nature, in opposition to the experience of mankind, and in violation of the plainest revelations of the Divine Law."

Record of the case that established that states do not have a legal right to secede from the Union and that, though they claimed otherwise, the states that attempted to secede were always part of the United States.

Official site of Texas' judicial branch.

Official site of Texas' attorney general's office.

Article 5 of the Texas State Constitution addresses the Judicial Branch of the state's government.

"Maintains a specialized collection of materials designed to support legislators in their work. The Library has Legislative bill files from the 63rd legislature (1973) forward as well as more than 49,400 titles and 134,772 volumes, including books, reports, periodicals, and Texas state documents."

A summary of Texas bills written in layperson's terms.

Contains the current rules and regulations that were enacted by the Administrative Agencies of Texas. The rules and regulations are codified in 16 sections or “titles” according to subject.

This Cornell Law School page provides access to state constitutions, statutes, and codes.

"CAP includes all official, book-published state and federal United States case law — every volume or case designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. [Its] scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands."

"State and local lawmakers have taken action to prevent bullying and protect children. Each jurisdiction, including all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories (state), addresses bullying differently."

This section of the APIS Web site provides State-by-State summaries of statutes and regulations related to underage drinking and access to alcohol.

The regulations are "contained in Chapter I, of Title 27, Code of Federal Regulations. (27 CFR chapter 1.) Each title of the CFR is divided into "parts," which cover a particular subject, and each part is further divided into sections."

A list of the federal laws related to alcohol, tobacco, firearms and explosives.

Licensing, sale, possession, and enforcement for alcohol, tobacco, firearms, and explosives/ammunition falls to the ATF.

A listing of state laws and ordinances related to firearms.

A state-by-state listing of tobacco laws, this site also provides statistics for each state and gives states a report card related to their efforts to enforce tobacco laws.

Explanation of state alcohol laws.

Texas-specific alcohol laws and regulations.