"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. They then charge an access fee to organizations or individuals who wish to access the information stored in their databases.
MCC Library Services pays that access fee for faculty, staff, and most students (with the exception of continuing-education students.) In fact, we provide you with access to 162 databases. View the Databases A-Z list to see a description of every database we provide.
"What the heck is a periodical?"
A periodical is a publication that is published on a regular, ongoing basis. It might be published daily, weekly, monthly, or at some other regular interval.
Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals.
Your instructor has provided the specific parameters for this assignment. Generally, you are selecting a historical figure to research and connect to any of the following qualities or aspects: leadership, creativity, and multiple intelligences.
1. Start with searching on just the name of your historical figure, with their name enclosed in quotation marks.
2. Then add some subtopics to your search, using words or phrases that relate to leadership, creativity, or intelligences.
3. If you are not researching a contemporary person, you do not have to limit your search by publication date.
4. Use the database's recommended MLA citation. Paste that citation into your word or Google document for your records and then make sure it is formatted according to the MLA instructions you have covered in your class.
5. You have time to request books or articles via Interlibrary Loan. If you locate a resource in your searches in which the full-text is not available, you may see a button called "Request through Interlibrary Loan." Fill out that form and we can request emailed articles or print books on your behalf.
6. If you are having trouble deciding who to research, try the links on our Biographical Information Research Guide.
In addition to using the library's main search tool, these databases contain research related to many different fields:
Watch the video below before visiting single databases to help you understand how they work.
Are you struggling to find research materials, use our library databases, or write citations and references? Our research librarians can help!
Just need a little help? Visit the Learning Commons' third-floor desk in the Learning Technology Center (LTC), or contact us via live chat or email. You can also call us at 254-299-8325.
Need a lot of help? Schedule a research consultation with one of our research librarians. It's their job to help you succeed!
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
Academic Support and Tutoring (AST) provides free tutoring to MCC students (including writing and citation assistance) and free support and tutorials for college-related software.
AST offers in-person support in the Learning Commons, located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Learning Technology Center (LTC). You can also reach out to AST via phone, Zoom, or email.
Use the link above to learn more about AST and locate its contact information and hours.
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
Cynthia Soll
Research Librarian
MCC Learning Commons
csoll@mclennan.edu
254-299-8343
You learned the basics of library research on the "How to Begin" page of this guide, but you need to understand more to get the best results! Check out the slideshow below to learn more. (Use the arrow on the right side of the page to navigate, and turn on your volume to hear the narration.)
