Rachel Kramer
Research Librarian
she/her/hers
MCC Learning Commons
rkramer@mclennan.edu
254-299-8390
"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. Multiple database companies may collect the same item, which then appears in each database.
Database companies charge a fee for access to their databases. Don't worry, MCC Library Services pays this fee for MCC students, faculty, and staff. In fact, we provide access to 162 databases.
"What the heck is a periodical?"
A periodical is a publication that is published on a regular, ongoing basis. It might be published daily, weekly, monthly, or at some other regular interval.
Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals.
The MCC Library is an excellent place to find sources for your assignments! Does the library confuse you? Don't worry! If you can shop online and use Google, you can use the library's search engine. It looks different than what you are used to, but all of these systems function in a similar way. The videos and boxes below will teach you to use the library's search engine.
The video below will teach you the basics of using the MCC Library's search engine (which is located on the library's homepage).
The video below will teach you to use the cite, share, and save button's on the item-preview screen.
The video below will teach you to find more information about a search result by accessing its record page.
Are you struggling to find research materials, use library databases, or write citations and references? Our research librarians can help!
Just need a little help? Visit the Learning Commons' top-floor desk in the Learning Technology Center (LTC), or contact us via live chat or email. You can also call us at 254-299-8325.
Need a lot of help? Schedule a research consultation with one of our research librarians. It's their job to help you succeed!
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
Academic Support and Tutoring (AST) provides free tutoring to MCC students (including writing and citation assistance) and free support and tutorials for college-related software.
AST offers in-person support in the Learning Commons, located on the main and top floors of the Learning Technology Center (LTC). You can also reach out to AST via phone or email.
Use the link above to learn more about AST and locate its contact information and hours.
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
You learned the basics of library research in the videos above, but you need to understand more to get the best results! Check out the slideshow below to learn more. (Use the arrow on the right side of the page to navigate, and turn on your volume to hear the narration.)
