Rachel Kramer
Research Librarian
she/her/hers
MCC Learning Commons
rkramer@mclennan.edu
254-299-8390
Are you struggling to find research materials, use our library databases, or write citations and references? Our research librarians can help!
Just need a little help? Visit the Learning Commons' third-floor desk in the Learning Technology Center (LTC), or contact us via live chat or email. You can also call us at 254-299-8325.
Need a lot of help? Schedule a research consultation with one of our research librarians. It's their job to help you succeed!
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
The MCC Library has hundreds of thousands of excellent sources for this project. The videos below will teach you the basics of using the MCC Library's search engine (which is located on the library's homepage).
The video below will teach you to use the cite, share, and save button's on the item-preview screen.
The video below will teach you to find more information about a search result by accessing its record page.
"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. They then charge a fee to organizations or individuals who wish to access the information stored in their databases.
MCC Library Services pays that access fee for faculty, staff, and students. In fact, we provide you with access to 162 databases. View the Databases A-Z list to see a description of every database.
By using three simple words, you can improve your search results. Boolean searching connects words and phrases with three Boolean operators: AND, OR, and NOT. Depending on the operator, you can either narrow or expand your search results.
AND will make your search smaller. If you are getting too many items in your search results, try linking another term to your topic using AND.
OR will make your search bigger. If you are receiving too few results, try connecting a synonym to your topic using OR.
NOT will exclude a word from your search results. If you are getting to many results on an unrelated topic, try eliminating a word with the operator NOT.
