"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. They then charge an access fee to organizations or individuals who wish to access the information stored in their databases.
MCC Library Services pays that access fee for faculty, staff, and most students (with the exception of continuing-education students.) In fact, we provide you with access to 162 databases. View the Databases A-Z list to see a description of every database we provide.
"What the heck is a periodical?"
A periodical is a publication that is published on a regular, ongoing basis. It might be published daily, weekly, monthly, or at some other regular interval.
Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals.
Databases Search Results are all Similar
If you're unfamiliar with library databases, the search results might confuse you. However, whether you're using Amazon.com's search feature or a library search engine, the results pages are similar. Check out the video below to learn how much you already know about search results!
Use the News to Find a Topic
Are you struggling to think of a topic? Browse the news to find one!
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the full-text of current and extensive backfiles of U.S. newspapers, news services, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Single Databases
You can search all of the library's search engines at one time by using the search tool on the library's homepage. However, you can also search one database at a time by visiting the library's A to Z list of search engines. There you can browse a list of the library's individual databases, select one that interests you, and then search it. Below, you will find two individual databases to get you started.
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
