"What the heck is a database?"
A library database is a searchable collection of digital items (such as journal or newspaper articles). Database companies collect these items to fill their databases. They then charge an access fee to organizations or individuals who wish to access the information stored in their databases.
MCC Library Services pays that access fee for faculty, staff, and most students (with the exception of continuing-education students.) In fact, we provide you with access to 162 databases. View the Databases A-Z list to see a description of every database we provide.
Databases that are specific to psychology research:
Databases containing research related to multiple disciplines, including psychology:
Academic Search Complete, the library's largest multidisciplinary full-text database, is suitable for searching in most subject areas and provides access to articles from peer-reviewed sources, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary source documents, and book excerpts. This link defaults to the Advanced Search interface, but there is a Basic Search link option offered at the search screen.
Databases that examine issues by providing opposing opinions:
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each weekly issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers demographics, statistics, pro and con interviews, background information, timelines, and suggested readings.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides differing views on current issues, controversial issues, and topics requiring a diversity of viewpoints supporting science, social studies, current events, and language arts research through viewpoint essays, topic overviews, court case overviews, periodical articles, reference book entries, and news radio transcripts.
Reaction Essay research requirements:
MCC Library Search Bot (beta, requires Microsoft 365 login which is free to MCC students)
Please test the following AI bot to assist you with developing good search words to use in the library databases. It queries you on your topic and helps you refine and locate synonyms or related terms.
The video below will teach you the basics of using the MCC Library's search engine (which is located on the library's homepage). It incudes information on:
The video below will teach you to use the cite, share, and save button's on the item-preview screen.
The video below will teach you to find more information about a search result by accessing its record page.
Are you struggling to find research materials, use our library databases, or write citations and references? Our research librarians can help!
Just need a little help? Visit the Learning Commons' third-floor desk in the Learning Technology Center (LTC), or contact us via live chat or email. You can also call us at 254-299-8325.
Need a lot of help? Schedule a research consultation with one of our research librarians. It's their job to help you succeed!
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
Academic Support and Tutoring (AST) provides free tutoring to MCC students (including writing and citation assistance) and free support and tutorials for college-related software.
AST offers in-person support in the Learning Commons, located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Learning Technology Center (LTC). You can also reach out to AST via phone, Zoom, or email.
Use the link above to learn more about AST and locate its contact information and hours.
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
Cynthia Soll
Research Librarian
MCC Learning Commons
csoll@mclennan.edu
254-299-8343
