Choosing a Topic

Check out the boxes below for ways to find great social and political issues to use as a topic for this paper.

CQ Researcher & GALE IN CONTEXT: OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS

CQ Researcher is an excellent resource for choosing a topic. It provides unbiased coverage of social and political issues. Each report offers pro and con interviews, background and historical information, and more.

A CQ Researcher report would also make an excellent contemporary source for your paper.

To access CQ Researcher from off campus, log in with your student ID and password.

The video below will help you access and use CQ Researcher.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a great resource for choosing a topic. It provides differing views on political and social issues. Each entry includes a topic overview and a list of resources.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an excellent place to find opinion pieces and scholarly articles on your topic.

To access Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints from off campus, log in with your student ID and password.

This video will help you access and use Gale in Context.

Use the News to find a Topic

Struggling to think of a topic?

Use the news sites below to get ideas.

Associated Press
- Associated Press is a general news agency that has existed for over 175 years. It is well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports with neutral, non-inflammatory language.
Reuters
- Reuters is a general news agency that has existed for nearly 170 years. It is also well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports with neutral, non-inflammatory language.
The New York Times
The New York Times is a daily newspaper that has existed for 170 years. It is well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports and investigative journalism. However, some of its news analysis/opinion pieces may embrace liberal ideals.
more...less...
Are you an MCC student or a member of faculty or staff? If so, sign up for free access to the NYT through the MCC Library. (Excludes continuing education students.)
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is a daily business-focused newspaper that has existed for 170 years. It is well respected, and it provides highly factual news reports. However, some of its news analysis/opinion pieces may embrace conservative ideals.
more...less...
Are you an MCC student or a member of faculty or staff? If so, sign up for free access to the WSJ through the MCC Library. (Excludes continuing education students.)

Possible Topics

Still trying to decide on a topic? Some possible topics include

Environmental and environmental justice issues
Voting rights issues, such gerrymandering, filibustering, the Voting Rights Act, etc.
Immigration issues, such as Dreamers, the border wall, etc.
LGBTQ+ issues, including Trans Lives Matter, bathroom bills, etc.
Women's rights or issues in feminism, including choice vs. anti choice, child care, income equality, etc.
Mass incarceration issues, including abolition, the prison industrial complex, etc.
Critical Race Theory issues, including race and law, red lining, etc.
Education issues - any aspect
Pandemic issues, including vaccination, masking, etc.
Social media issues, including cancel culture, self-image, mental health, etc.
Race issues, including Black Lives Matter, defund the police movements, etc.
Artificial intelligence issues
Government issues, including the role of the government in health care, transportation, childcare, the economy, etc.
Disability rights issues
Diversity, equity, and inclusion issues
And much more!