Rachel Kramer
Research Librarian
she/her/hers
MCC Learning Commons
rkramer@mclennan.edu
254-299-8390
CQ Researcher is an excellent resource for writing argumentative papers. It provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues related to education, health, social trends, criminal justice, and international affairs. Each issue addresses one topic guided by a question and offers statistics, pro and con interviews, and background information.
This brief video below will teach you to use CQ Researcher.
The Pro/Con section of each report might be very helpful for planting a naysayer in your argumentative paper. But remember, if you plant a naysayer, don't forget to rebut it!
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is another great resource for writing argumentative papers. It provides differing views on current events, controversial issues, and topics requiring a diversity of viewpoints. Each entry includes a brief overview on the topic as well as a list of curated resources that include expert opinions, scholarly articles, news articles, videos, images, and more.
This brief video will teach you to use Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.
Each overview also includes a short pro/con section that could also be helpful in planting naysayers in your papers.
This Newsbank collection provides cover to cover full text and some image editions of major Texas newspapers, including the Waco-Tribune Herald, Houston Chronicle, Dallas Morning News, Austin American-Statesman, and Fort Worth Star-Telegram.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the full-text of current and extensive backfiles of U.S. newspapers, news services, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Are you struggling to find research materials, use our library databases, or write citations and references? Our research librarians can help!
Just need a little help? Visit the Learning Commons' third-floor desk in the Learning Technology Center (LTC), or contact us via live chat or email. You can also call us at 254-299-8325.
Need a lot of help? Schedule a research consultation with one of our research librarians. It's their job to help you succeed!
Image courtesy of Adobe Stock.
