Find the best library databases for your research. Specialized databases (searchable only apart from the library’s search tool) may be found here.
This link opens in a new windowThe most frequently-used databases
Art Magazine Collection Archives contains indexing and full text (including covers and advertisements) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015). This archive provides a history of collecting over the course of the 20th century, as well as a comprehensive record of fine arts, art history, interior design, decorative arts, and architecture in the 20th and early 21st century. [Content from ARTnews and Art in America was sourced in part from the New York Public Library.]
Boundless is a growing collection of audiobooks from Baker & Taylor, accessible using the Boundless app (App Store, Google Play, Amazon apps) or on a browser using the platform. The collection currently covers classic and young adult fiction titles including The Lord of the Rings (narrated by Andy Serkis), The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, the Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, and Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi and Yusef Salaam.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Package offers clips and full-length educational videos on a wide range of subjects. These videos include documentaries, news, educational content, interviews, dramatic productions, and performances. Faculty can visit guide for instructions on utilizing Films on Demand in their courses.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
This link opens in a new windowLearning Express Library is a resource organized into targeted centers, with tutorials, practice tests, ebooks, and video courses to help users improve core academic skills, pass the GED, prepare for college entrance exams, join the military, study for occupational certifications, navigate the job search process, and much more. To use this resource, users must create a personal account, enabling your progress to be saved.
Medici.tv is an online platform for streaming classical music videos. The Medici.tv catalog provides approximately 1600 films as well as hundreds of events that are broadcast live each year. This database also hosts a rare and exclusive selection of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes.
Acceda Noticias is a Newsbank collection providing online access to full text of over 90 Spanish-language news sources from major cities in the United States and around the world.
This Newsbank collection provides cover to cover full text and some image editions of major Texas newspapers, including the Waco-Tribune Herald, Houston Chronicle, Dallas Morning News, Austin American-Statesman, and Fort Worth Star-Telegram.
MCC Library Services offers video and text-based tutorials covering research skills, critical thinking, and searching research databases, hosted on a platform entitled Niche Academy.
Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 163 languages with Personalized Courses, movies, music, and more. Includes new COVID-19 language course in 101 languages.
This link opens in a new windowAn easy-to-use online resource that provides multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audio book readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans, and more, for over 40,000 children’s and young adult books in English and Spanish.
