Skip to main content
Login to LibApps

Social Sciences

A guide to finding resources related to Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Mental Health, Child Development, TECA, Criminal Justice, Anthropology, and Archaeology


Welcome to the Research Guide for Social Sciences. Social scientists study humans' behaviors and interactions with their environments and with other humans. This guide contains information about social sciences subjects, including Anthropology, Archaeology, Child Development, Communication, Criminal Justice, Gerontology, Mental Health, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology. Several types of information are available through the MCC library, both in print and online.  The tabs at the top of this page will guide you to different types of resources and to the help you need.

Databases/Articles -  Find journal articles, including scholarly (peer reviewed) journal articles in the online databases.

Journals/Periodicals- Use the search boxes on this page if you are looking for a particular journal or article.

Books -  A search for your topic will result in a good selection of print books and/or ebooks.

Websites - There are many good websites with good information, especially those from a government agency, a higher education institution, or a professional organization.

Writing & Citing - Get help with writing your papers and citing your sources.

Need Help? - Contact us when you need help - by phone, email, live chat, or in person.

Research Process

Watch this PowerPoint created by EasyBib to get tips on how to do a research project. Information includes how to create a topic, using keywords, narrowing your search, finding information, taking notes, creating an outline, plagiarism, and citations.

Getting Started

Start by getting familiar with basic information about your topic.

  • Review background and general information
  • Identify important people, places, events, time frame

How to find this type of information?

  • Use the following general encyclopedias
  • Use the Gale Reference Library to find subject specific encyclopedias and other reference books.
  • Use the catalog to find subject specific encyclopedias

Please note, information found in general encyclopedias such as Encyclopedia Britannica or Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia cannot be cited or used as a source for your research project.

A Conversation With Koko