Skip to main content

PLAB 1323 (Petree): Liability Articles

Searching for Articles

This guide provides the databases you need to use for this assignment and also some suggested search terms.  The library has access to many databases containing newspapers, magazines, scholarly articles and books.  For this project you should use Discovery Search or WestlawNext.  Discovery is similar to a search engine like Google except it searches the library databases and catalog.  It's a quick way to search multiple databases.  However it doesn't search all of the library databases. You will need to search the WestlawNext database separately.  I strongly recommend that you watch the search tips videos, especially for WestLawNext.  You can access the databases off-campus.  When you are asked to login, use the same login that you use for WebAdvisor and student email.

Search Terms

To find articles about lawsuits involving phlebotomist, try some of the terms below.  Type the terms exactly as you see them.  "AND" tells the search engine to retrieve articles that have both words.  The quotation marks tell the computer to find those words together in a document.  Of course you may have thought of other similar words so search those too.  There is never only one perfect search term or phrase.

Phlebotomist AND liability

Phlebotomist AND lawsuits

Phlebotomist AND "medical malpractice"

Phlebotomist AND malpractice

Phlebotomist AND negligence

Discovery Search

Research databases



Limit Your Results

Use Discovery Search to find books and articles for your topic. Please note that Discovery searches most MCC Library databases.  You may wish to search some of the individual databases listed in this guide for more narrow and subject specific results.

Database Search Tips

Watch these videos to learn a few quick tips on searching in Discovery and WestlawNext.  If you need more information, please contact a librarian.

Legal Database

Research Librarian

Colin Porter's picture
Colin Porter
Contact:
(254) 299-8344