Skip to main content
Get Help       Login to LibApps

HITT 2339 Research Help

Using Discovery Search to Locate Articles from Subject-Specific Periodicals

To begin searching Discovery Search, go back to the library home page and use the basic search box in the middle of the page.

There are a few ways that you can use Discovery Search and ensure that you are only retrieving Health Sciences periodicals in the search results.

After starting your general search from the Library homepage using the single search box, choose one of these options from the left hand side of the screen:

Screenshot of Discovery Search box.

Choose to limit to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" from the left hand options under "Limit to."  You will then only be retrieving scholarly journals and based on your search terms will likely consist primarily of journal titles in your subject area of business management or health sciences. (You can also combine this option with one of the options listed below)

Screenshot of publication list after using the scholarly journal limiter.

Under Publication, click "Show More" and select the journal and magazine titles that you recognize and trust.

Screenshot of publication limiter option.

Under Subject, click "Show More" and view the subject terms that are most relevant to your subject and are more related to health sciences and business management terminology.

Screenshot of subject limiter options.

Under Databases Searched, click "Show More" and then select the database titles from the provided list of recommended databases provided in this guide.

Screenshot of subject limiter options

Add additional search terms to your initial search that more directly relate to your career area (such as best practices, leadership, research, methodology, business, case study, report, health care).

Screenshot showing how to add a second search term.

 

Recommended Databases

If you wish to search individual databases, rather than Discovery Search (all databases at once), here are recommendations:

Discovery Search

Use Discovery Search to find books and articles for your topic. Please note that Discovery searches most MCC Library databases.  You may wish to search some of the individual databases listed in this guide for more narrow and subject specific results.

Research databases



Limit Your Results