Geology

"DLESE resources include electronic materials for both teachers and learners, such as lesson plans, maps, images, data sets, visualizations, assessment activities, curriculum, online courses, and much more."

"The Earth Science World Image Bank is a service provided by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI). This Image Bank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community. The Image Bank now has over 6,000 images available to search, making it one of the largest sources of Earth Science imagery available on the web."

This is a free online encyclopedia containing articles written by scholars, educators, professionals and experts in various scientific fields.

You will find general geology information on a wide range of topics. Included are maps of the U.S. and world and a geological dictionary.

Created by the USGS, this site contains geologic information pertaining to the U.S. National Parks as well as general geological topics such as plate tectonics, shorelines, volcanoes, geologic time, etc.

Part of NOAA, this site provides data on geophysics, marine geology, paleoclimatology, solar-terrestrial physics, solid earth geophysics and glaciology.

"The NOAA Photo Library has been built so as to capture the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up this complex and scientifically diverse agency. The NOAA collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. "

"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."

The U.S. Board on Geographic names maintains uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government. The board creates "official geographic feature names with locative attributes as well as principles, policies, and procedures governing the use of domestic names, foreign names, Antarctic names, and undersea feature names."

"The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information."

"This site is designed to provide free viewing and downloading of the entire USGS photographic collection."