Skip to main content
Login to LibApps

Geology

This guide is designed to assist students researching topics in physical and historical geography and earth science.

Discovery Search

Use Discovery Search to find books and articles for your topic. Please note that Discovery searches most MCC Library databases.  You may wish to search some of the individual databases listed in this guide for more narrow and subject specific results.

Research databases



Limit Your Results

Article & Research Databases

News Databases

Database Help


This system provided by the MCC Library, searches most of our databases and the online catalog at one time. View a basic and advanced search demonstration in this video tutorial.
Links to sections of tutorial:
Basic Search
Advanced Searching
Folders, Print, Email and Save

How to Find Articles from Newspapers and News Sources

Using the online databases from the MCC Library, you can also search for articles from newspapers. For best results, view in HD.

How to Choose a Topic

Created by David Taylor, University of Maryland University College.

Search for Articles with Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full text articles from MCC Library collections....

  1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
  2. Click the horizontal lines in the left corner next to the Google Scholar logo (Chrome browser) or next to My profile.
  3. Click Settings and then Library links
  4. Type MCC Library and hit enter
  5. Deselect any other libraries and check the box next to MCC Library - Full-Text @ MCC Library
  6. Click Save
  7. Enter your article search

Click the Full-Text @ MCC Library beside the article to access it.  For search results where there is no link for the MCC Library, you may get some free full text from the publisher or be asked to purchase the article.