Skip to main content
Login to LibApps

About

This guide provides information about library hours, location, staff, guidelines, news, and other helpful information.

Borrowing Materials

 
All library borrowers must present their current MCC student or staff ID to check out all library materials.
 
Type of material
Loan Period
Renewal Period
 Circulating Books
Students - 2 Weeks
Faculty/Staff - Semester
1 additional 2-week period
 Reserves
Varies
No Renewals
 Periodicals and  Newspapers
Library Use Only
Library Use Only
 Reference Books
Library Use Only
Library Use Only
 Study Rooms
2 Hours
No Renewals
 Webcams
2 Hours
No Renewals
 Phone Charger   Cables
2 Hours
Library Use Only

Fines/Fees/Lost Books

Fines and Fees

Fines are charged on overdue items as follows:

1.Fines of $1.00 per day are charged for overdue circulating books, to a maximum of $14.00 per item. When the $14.00 maximum has been reached, a "hold" in the amount of $35.00 is imposed on the student's record.

2.Fines of $1.00 per hour are charged for overdue hourly reserve items for every hour that the library is open, including study rooms and phone charger cables. The maximum fine will be $14.00 before a "hold" in the amount of $35.00 is imposed on the student's record.

3.A $1.00 per day fine for every day that the library is open is to be applied to overdue 1-day, 2-day, 3-day, or 7-day reserve items. The maximum fine will be $14.00 before a "hold" in the amount of $35.00 is imposed on the student's record.

4.All fines must be paid by means of the Highlander OneCard. The library has no way of accepting payments in cash.

Lost Books

Replacement costs for lost books are to include the cost of the book (if still in print) based on current pricing as found in Books in Print, plus a $10.00 processing fee. If the book is no longer in print, a search for a replacement copy will be made through standard online used book resources. In addition to the cost of replacement books located through this method, there will be a $10.00 processing fee. A $50.00 per item flat fee will charged for books that cannot be located through a normal online search. If the lost item is a laptop computer, the amount for repayment will be the depreciated value of the computer, plus any outstanding fines or registrar's hold fees.

Computer Use Policy

MCC Computer Use Policy

MCC Computer Use Policy makes provisions for policies that apply to specific computers systems or networks operated by specific units of the college such as the Library. Library computer users should consult computer area supervisors for further information about specific use guidelines or to express questions or concerns regarding computer use.

•Demand for computers in the library's open access computer areas is often very heavy. During peak use periods, you may be asked to surrender the computer you are using if you are not doing academic work. It is expected that all MCC students will respect the rights of others, including the right of access to academic computing resources.

•Computers in the Library are to be used primarily for research and information to support classes being taken at MCC. Priority use of computers goes to current MCC students, faculty and staff.

•Computer users must not change any computer settings or deliberately download files to the hard disks of computers. This includes downloading to the desktop or desktop folders, since downloaded files may be infected with computer viruses. If a program or file is accidentally downloaded, please contact Library computer technicians at once.

•Students should not use DOS commands on library computers, since this may seriously interfere with the operation of network printers or other programs or the network.

•Use of Library computers for access to chat rooms, instant messaging, electronic games (except games used for instructional purposes), bulletin boards, and general Internet surfing for personal pleasure is discouraged, since such use may infringe on computer access and the rights of other students. Library faculty and staff are not responsible for enforcing prohibition on such use unless it (1) poses a danger to the security of the Library computer network, (2) interferes with the use of computer resources for instructional purposes, (3) infringes on access by other students to computers and/or information resources, or (4) constitutes a violation of College Policy or State or Federal Law.

•General use computers in the Library are equipped with the MS Office productivity suite, which includes MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and a number of other specialized applications.

•Students and other computer users are expected to abide by the provisions of the MCC General Conduct Policy, which requires conduct according to standards of common decency and socially acceptable behavior. Violation of this policy may result in the suspension of computer use access, referral to the College Discipline Committee for appropriate disciplinary action, or referral to Law Enforcement.

•Electronic mail is considered to be a necessary and proper means of communication, and for that reason the College provides an official e-mail account for every student. All computer users are encouraged to use their individual student e-mail accounts since it provides automatic virus scanning and other protection against virus infection. Use of e-mail accounts from other sources may result in Library computers being infected with viruses or the accidental downloading and installation of unauthorized programs, including unsolicited advertising, “cookies,” and pop-up ads. Please exercise extreme caution in the use of any other e-mail programs, and do not open e-mail attachments received through these e-mail programs on Library computers.

•There is a per-page charge to print materials, including full-text articles, from Library computers. The amount of this per-page charge is determined by campus administration, not by the Library. The printer requires the use of a Highlander OneCard. Money can be put onto Highlander OneCard accounts at the terminal near the front entrance to the LTC, at other local terminals or on the Add Value machine located at the Circulation Desk.

•No food is allowed in the library's open access computer areas. Drinks in approved containers are permitted. Most of the rest of the Library is "Food Friendly," including the study rooms and the Rotunda.

The Information Desk closes 15 minutes before the Library closes each day to give the staff time to perform closing duties. Please finish all your work on the computer and pick up printed materials no later than 15 minutes before the scheduled closing.

 

Guidelines for Study Room Use

There are five Quiet Study Rooms available to students on a first come, first served basis. Each room is equipped with a networked desktop computer. These rooms may be checked out at the Information Desk. MCC students must have a Highlander OneCard in order to check out a study room.

Please note the following guidelines:

1. Rooms may be checked out for up to two hours at a time.

2. Those who use the Quiet Study Rooms are expected to follow the MCC General Conduct policy and must be considerate of other library users. Noise should be kept to a minimum, and litter should be disposed of properly.

3. Quiet Study Rooms may be used for individual or group study, including sessions that incidentally include consumption of food or drink. Activities that are primarily meal functions should be held in the Highlander Cafe food court area on the second floor of the LTC.

4. Rooms will be kept locked when they are not in use.

5. A fine of $1.00 per hour is charged if the two hour checkout time is exceeded.

Gift Policy

Gifts are considered for the Library collection using the same criteria as those applied in selecting materials for purchase. Magazines are only accepted as replacements for missing issues or as a continuing gift. Materials in poor physical condition such as those containing mold or mildew will not be considered for acquisition. The library does not evaluate gifts for tax purposes. Any gift items not selected for the collection will be treated as Deselected Items.  

All money contributed to the library for material purchases may be designated to subject areas. Specific suggestions are subject to the approval of the Director of Library Services.

Collection Development Policy

MCC Library Collection Development Policy

The primary mission of the Collection Development Policy is to support the academic needs of the students and faculty by providing resources for class assignments and research. The Library also strives to enhance literacy skills and provide enrichment opportunities through leisure reading. The library primarily acquires resources to support the curricular needs of students, faculty, and staff involved in transfer undergraduate classes, associate degree programs, or certificate programs. In addition, the library acquires local and state information and statistics. A small collection of leisure reading materials will also be acquired. Library resources can be accessed through the Library website, or the MCC Campus Library. A collection of Veterinary and Agriculture educational resources is located at the Highlander Ranch. Materials not normally purchased by the library include textbooks, out-of-print books, and rare materials. There will be a limited amount of duplication of print resource acquisitions except where the needs of the students and the demand for the print resource are apparent. The library does not purchase resources for individual research projects.

Selection

The library selects materials in various formats from a number of professional selection tools which include:
•Professional journals
•Popular review sources
•Standard bibliographies
•Publishers' and producers' catalogs
•Requests submitted by faculty, staff and students
Criteria considered when selecting materials include:
•Relevance to instructional needs
•Correlation to the existing collection
•Appropriateness of the medium/compatibility with hardware owned
•Timeliness/permanence of contents
•Quality
•Reputation of author, director, publisher, producer
•Scarcity of materials on subject matter
•Demand
•Age
•Cost in relation to other costs and other relevant materials
•Storage requirements
•Availability elsewhere

Budget Allocations

Budget allocations for purchasing resources are determined for each academic year. Criteria used to determine the allocations include:
•Certificate and Degree Programs offered
•Library use statistics

Gifts

Gifts are considered for the Library collection using the same criteria as those applied in selecting materials for purchase. Magazines are only accepted as replacements for missing issues or as a continuing gift. Materials in poor physical condition such as those containing mold or mildew will not be considered for acquisition. The library does not evaluate gifts for tax purposes. Any gift items not selected for the collection will be treated as Deselected Items.
All money contributed to the library for material purchases may be designated to subject areas. Specific suggestions are subject to the approval of the Director of Library Services.

Deselection

The purpose of deselecting materials is to maintain a collection which supports the changing curricular needs of the students and current developments in every area.

Criteria used in choosing items for deselection include:
•Outdated/Obsolete material
•Poor physical condition
•Discontinued programs or courses, unless material supports other subject areas
•Circulation - materials with low or no circulation within a pre-determined time period will be considered for deselection. The time period will vary according to the subject area and may be determined through consultation with librarians and their liaison areas.
Deselected items will be disposed of in accordance with the standard disposal practices of the college. (Policies and Procedures C-II)

Formats

Library materials are available in various formats. These formats may include electronic, print, or audio-visual. Formats purchased will be those which are supported by library equipment or hardware.

Responsibility

The overall responsibility for selection and maintenance of the library collections rests with the Director of Library Services. The Collections & Resource Management Specialist has primary responsibility for the selection and maintenance of the print/electronic monograph collection. Primary responsibility for selection and maintenance of the periodical and database collections is carried out by the librarians as a committee.

Note: All deselected print books are handled according to MCC Policies & Procedures C-II and are disposed of as part of the recycling program supported by the college.